Conference of Speakers of the European Union Parliaments

8 - 9 April 2019

Since its annual meetings in 1999 in a fixed format, the Speakers Conference of EU member states and the European Parliament has developed into an important forum of international exchange and of parliamentary cooperation within the EU. The first meeting took place in 1963 in Rome.

It is a special element of the Parliamentary Dimension and of interparliamentary cooperation that the parliament holding the Presidency of the Council of the EU in the second half of the year will hold the Presidency of the Conference of Speakers of the EU Parliaments and organize the meeting of the Secretaries General in the first half of the following year.

Therefore the Austrian Parliament will host the speakers of all EU member states 8 - 9 April 2019. Austria already took over the Presidency of the Speakers’ Conference from Estonia in Tallinn on 24 April 2018.

The chairmanship is currently held by the President of the National Council, Wolfgang Sobotka and the President of the Federal Council, Ingo Appé.

IPEX – Website of the EU Speakers Conference

The Austrian Parliament has implemented an online registration system.
Information on the registration system is distributed to the delegations directly via e-mail.
Please note that registration ends on 8 March 2019.

Information on media accreditation can be found here.

Unterpunkte anzeigen Press release

Unterpunkte anzeigen Photos

Unterpunkte anzeigen Videos

Unterpunkte anzeigen Social Media

Unterpunkte anzeigen Media accreditation

Access to the meetings within the Parliamentary Dimension will be possible only with valid accreditation.

The permanent accreditation from the Austrian Presidency of the Council is valid for all conferences and media events within the Parliamentary Dimension. For this accreditation please consult the website of the Austrian Presidency

For the conferences taking place at the Hofburg/Parliament and at the Erste Campus the permanent accreditation from the Austrian Parliament is also valid. Individual accreditation for the conferences taking place at the Hofburg/ Parliament and at the Erste Campus are managed by the Mediaservice of the Parliamentary Administration The dates will be individually announced prior to the conference.