EU Presidency: Parliamentary Dimension Programme Finalised

Austrian Parliament, 16 May 2018

Parliament to become European platform for dialogue at numerous conferences

Vienna – During the Austrian Presidency of the Council of the European Union starting 1 July, the Austrian Parliament will host numerous international meetings and conferences. The meeting of the Chairpersons of the Conference of Parliamentary Committees for Union Affairs of Parliaments of the European Union (COSAC) on 8 and 9 July at the Hofburg conference centre in Vienna will initiate the series of events. Guests expected to attend include Frans Timmermans, First Vice-President of the European Commission, and Mairead McGuinness, Vice-President of the European Parliament. The Parliamentary Dimension focuses on strengthening democracy, regional stability and security as well as subsidiarity in the EU. The programme also includes plans for a conference on the West Balkans in the autumn.

The Parliamentary Dimension extends beyond the official end of Austria's Presidency on 31 December 2018. As a special feature of inter-parliamentary cooperation at EU level, the EU Member State holding the EU Council Presidency in the second half of the year also hosts the Conference of Speakers of all EU Member States and the European Parliament, as well as the preparatory meeting of the Secretaries General in the following year. These conferences will take place in spring 2019, only a few weeks before the European elections are held in Austria on 26 May 2019.

Austria took over the chair of the Conference of the Speakers from Estonia at the end of April. This function is exercised by the President of the National Council, Wolfgang Sobotka, and the President of the Federal Council, Reinhardt Todt.

Particularly since the Treaty of Lisbon and the associated strengthening of national parliaments in developing EU legislation, the EU's Parliamentary Dimension has played an essential role in the country holding the EU Presidency. Over the last few years, a number of new conference formats have evolved.

Parliamentary Dimension Programme: 

8 - 9 July 2018: Meeting of the Chairpersons of COSAC - Conference of Parliamentary Committees for Union Affairs of Parliaments of the European Union

17 - 18 September 2018: Interparliamentary Conference on Stability, Economic Coordination and Governance in the European Union (SECG)

24 - 25 September 2018: Meeting of the Joint Parliamentary Scrutiny Group on Europol (JPSG)

11 - 12 October 2018: Interparliamentary Conference for the CFSP and CSDP

18 - 20 November 2018: Plenary Meeting of the LX COSAC

27 - 28 January 2019: Meeting of the Secretaries General of the European Union Parliaments

8 - 9 April 2019: Conference of Speakers of the European Union Parliaments

Information on the Parliamentary Dimension as well as conference papers are available under

Media accreditation

Accreditation is required for all meetings of the Parliamentary Dimension.

Permanent accreditation for the Austrian EU Presidency is valid for the conferences and press conferences in the context of the Parliamentary Dimension. Accreditation can be obtained on the website of the Austrian Presidency:

At conferences and meetings at the Vienna Hofburg/Parliament and at the Erste Campus, access is also granted to holders of permanent accreditation for the Austrian Parliament. Accreditation for individual conferences at the Hofburg/Parliament and the Erste Campus is handled by the Press Service ( No ad hoc accreditations can be issued on the day of the conferences. The exact dates will be announced ahead of each conference.

For more Information:
Press Office
Tel. +43 1 40110/2272