Inter-Parliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP)

11 -12 October, Erste Campus, Vienna

The Conference for CFSP and CSDP deals with current questions of parliamentary control of the EU foreign defence policy. The meeting offers the opportunity for an exchange of views between the national parliaments, the European Parliament and the European Commission.

This parliamentary body was established during the Speakers’ Conference in April 2012 in Warsaw and had its first meeting the same year in Cyprus. Especially since the Western European Union’s dissolution, this conference has had to guarantee the parliamentary control and monitoring of the EU foreign, security and defence policy.

The conference meets twice a year, usually in the member state holding the presidency. However in exceptional cases the meetings can take place in the European Parliament in Brussels. The delegations consist of max. six members of each of the national parliaments and 16 members of the European Parliament. National parliaments from the candidate countries and the European NATO members are allowed to send four delegates.

During the Austrian Presidency the Chairperson of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the National Council, Andreas Schieder (SPÖ), and the Chairperson of the Defence Committee, Reinhard Eugen Bösch (FPÖ) as well as the Chairperson of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the European Parliament, David McAllister (EPP), preside over the meeting.

Within the debate of current topics of parliamentary control of the EU foreign, security and defence policy, the conference will provide the opportunity to take a closer look at the stabilisation of the Western Balkan, the Global Strategy of the EU, and the EU’s role in international conflicts.

The conference was open to the public via livestream and remains available via video on demand.

IPEX Website of the interparliamentary conference

Unterpunkte anzeigen Invitations

Unterpunkte anzeigen Programme

Unterpunkte anzeigen General Information

Unterpunkte anzeigen Background papers

Unterpunkte anzeigen Final Statement by the Co-Presidency

Unterpunkte anzeigen List of participants

Unterpunkte anzeigen Presidency Summary


Unterpunkte anzeigen Press release

Unterpunkte anzeigen Photos

Unterpunkte anzeigen Videos

Unterpunkte anzeigen Social Media

Unterpunkte anzeigen Media accreditation

Access to the meetings within the Parliamentary Dimension will be possible only with valid accreditation.

The permanent accreditation from the Austrian Presidency of the Council is valid for all conferences and media events within the Parliamentary Dimension. For this accreditation please consult the website of the Austrian Presidency

For the conferences taking place at the Hofburg/Parliament and at the Erste Campus the permanent accreditation from the Austrian Parliament is also valid. Individual accreditation for the conferences taking place at the Hofburg/ Parliament and at the Erste Campus are managed by the Mediaservice of the Parliamentary Administration The dates will be individually announced prior to the conference.


Ms Petra Rund
International Relations Department

Ms Julia Krajcik
Protocol, Visits and Conference Organisation Department

Ms Sandra Kusmierczyk
EU Participation and European Relations Department

Ms Marlis Schmidt
Protocol, Visits and Conference Organisation Department

Should you need further information, please contact: