The Austrian Presidency of the Council of the European Union - Parliamentary Dimension

Within the last few years – especially since the Treaty of Lisbon and the implementation of the stronger role of national parliaments in the EU legislative process – the Parliamentary Dimension has become an integral part of the respective EU presidency.

The contacts on the parliamentary level have been strengthened throughout a number of different kinds of meetings and conferences. In particular, the establishment of new interparliamentary bodies, such as the Article 13 Conference in 2012, the Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy, and the Common Security and Defence Policy in 2013 or the Joint Scrutiny Group on Europol, which was set up only in 2017, are a clear signal.

Therefore, within the scope of the Parliamentary Dimension of the Austrian Presidency, numerous interparliamentary meetings reflecting the Presidency’s priorities will take place. Already in the Presidency’s run up the Conference of Presidents of the European Parliament and the College of Commissioners will meet for an exchange of views with Austrian Parliamentarians.

It is a special element of the Parliamentary Dimension and of interparliamentary cooperation that the parliament holding the Presidency of the Council of the EU in the second half of the year will hold the Presidency of the Conference of Speakers of the EU Parliaments and organize the meeting of the Secretaries General in the first half of the following year. Therefore the Austrian Parliament will host the speakers of all EU member states 8 - 9 April 2019. Austria already took over the Presidency of the Speakers’ Conference from Estonia in Tallinn on 24 April 2018. The chairmanship is currently held by the President of the National Council, Wolfgang Sobotka and the President of the Federal Council, Ingo Appé.

On 1 January 2019 a new trio presidency has started with Romania’s presidency followed by that of Finland in the second half of 2019 and by that of Croatia on 1 January 2020.


Unterpunkte anzeigen Declaration of the Parliaments of Estonia, Bulgaria and Austria

Here you find a declaration of cooperation of the Speakers of the Parliaments of three EU member states which have prepared the so called 18-month programme which determines the common priorities during the presidency trio.

Declaration of the Parliaments of EE BG AT (html)

Declaration of the Parliaments of EE BG AT / PDF, 202 KB

Unterpunkte anzeigen 18-month Programme of Estonia, Bulgaria and Austria

In this document the group of the three EU member states holding the so called trio presidency present their priorities in detail.

18-month programme EE BG AT

Unterpunkte anzeigen Programme of the Austrian Presidency