Niels Thygesen

Niels Thygesen is Professor of Economics (emeritus). Trained at the universities of Copenhagen, Paris and Harvard, and having worked for the governments of Denmark and Malaysia, he was at the University of Copenhagen 1971-2005. He has worked primarily on European monetary and financial integration, serving on official and academic expert groups. He is the author of three books, notably of “European Monetary Integration : From the EMS to EMU” (with Daniel Gros), London 1992 and 1998, and of app. 100 articles. He has been a Visiting Professor at Institut d’Etudes Politiques, Paris, at the European University Institute, Firenze, and a Visiting Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution.

He was an independent member of the group, mostly of central bank governors, which prepared Economic and Monetary Union in Europe (“ Delors Committee”) 1988-89. He was Adviser to the Governor of Danmarks Nationalbank, to the Danish and Swedish governments, to the European Commission, and to the IMF (on the effectiveness of surveillance). He was Chairman of the OECD’s Economic and Development Review Committee 2000-8. In October 2016 he became the first Chair of the European Fiscal Board advising the European Commission on implementing the rules for national fiscal policy and on reforming fiscal governance.

Niels Thygesen was President of the Danish Economic Association 1974-9; Member of the Executive Committee of the Trilateral Commission (Paris) 1981-2005; of the Steering Committee for the Euro50 Group (Paris) since 1999; and Adviser of the Institute for New Economic Thinking (INET), New York 2012-16.