The EU Sub-Committee

The EU Sub-Committee deliberates on projects and subjects of secondary EU law, for which the EU derives from the primary-law treaties its competence to pass legislative instruments: Regulations, which take immediate legal effect in all EU countries, and Directives, which have to be transposed into national law. The Committee has 21 members and is traditionally chaired by the Second President of the National Council.

Committee deliberations

Procedure in the sittings of the EU Sub-Committee is similar to that of the EU Main-Committee. The sittings are open to the public in similar conditions; members adopt opinions and committee findings by majority votes. The deliberations of the EU Sub-Committee are summarised in records which are published on the internet as Annex V to the stenographic records of the National Council.