

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 3 May 2013

8931/13

CULT 41

NOTE	
from :	General Secretariat of the Council
to :	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 1) / Council
No. Cion prop. :	8930/13 CULT 40
Subject :	Draft Council Decision designating the European Capital of Culture for the year 2017 in Denmark and in Cyprus and the European Capital of Culture for the year 2018 in Malta
	- Adoption

- In accordance with Article 8 of Decision No 1622/2006/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 24 October 2006 establishing a Community action for the European Capital of Culture event for the years 2007 to 2019¹, the selection panel recommended in its report of September 2012 that Aarhus (Danemark) and Paphos (Cyprus) host the event in 2017 and in its report of November 2012 that Valletta (Malta) host the event in 2018. In line with Article 9 of the above-mentioned Decision, the three Member States notified these nominations to the European Parliament, the Council, the Commission and the Committee of the Regions in autumn 2012.
- 2. Under Article 9(2) of the above-mentioned Decision, the <u>European Parliament</u> may forward an opinion to the Commission on the nomination. The European Parliament forwarded its positive opinions to the Commission in February 2013.

¹ OJ L 304, 3.11.2006, p. 1.

- 3. On 2 May 2013, the Commission submitted its recommendation for a Council Decision designating the European Capital of Culture for the year 2017 in Danemark and Cyprus and the European Capital of Culture for the year 2018 in Malta, in accordance with Article 9(3) of Decision No 1622/2006/EC. This recommendation was drawn up in the light of the positive opinions of the European Parliament and the justifications based on the reports of the selection panel.
- 4. In view of the above, the <u>Permanent Representatives Committee</u> could invite the <u>Council</u> to adopt the Decision annexed hereto, consequently designating Aarhus and Paphos as European Capitals of Culture for the year 2017 and Valletta as a European Capital of Culture for the year 2018, and authorise the publication of this Decision in the Official Journal.

COUNCIL DECISION

designating the European Capital of Culture for the year 2017 in Denmark and in Cyprus and the European Capital of Culture for the year 2018 in Malta

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Decision No 1622/2006/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 24 October 2006 establishing a Community action for the European Capital of Culture event for the years 2007 to 2019¹, and in particular Article 9(3) thereof,

Having regard to the recommendation from the European Commission,

Having regard to the selection panel reports of September 2012 regarding the selection process of the European Capitals of Culture in Denmark and Cyprus,

Having regard to the selection panel report of November 2012 regarding the selection process of the European Capital of Culture in Malta,

Whereas :

Considering that the criteria referred to in Article 4 of Decision No1622/2006/EC are entirely fulfilled,

¹ OJ L 304, 3.11.2006, p. 1.

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Aarhus and Paphos are designated as "European Capital of Culture 2017" respectively in Denmark and Cyprus.

Valletta is designated as "European Capital of Culture 2018" in Malta.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the day following that of its publication in the *Official Journal of the European Union*.

Done at Brussels,

For the Council

The President