

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 8 May 2013

9368/13

CDR 61

"I/A" ITEM NOTE

| from : | General Secretariat of the Council |
|-----------|--|
| to : | Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council |
| Subject : | Committee of the Regions |
| | - Appointment of four members and three alternate members (UK) |

- The Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end of the terms of office of Ms Amanda BYRNE, Ms Christine CHAPMAN, Ms Flo CLUCAS and Mr Roger KNOX, members of the Committee of the Regions, and Mr Peter MOORE and Mr Sandy PARK, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions.
- An alternate member's seat will become vacant following the appointment of Ms Paula BAKER as member of the Committee of the Regions.
- Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.
- 4. In accordance with that provision, the United Kingdom Government has proposed ¹ for the remainder of the current term of office, which ends on 25 January 2015:

¹ cf. doc. 9366/13 CDR 59.

- a) as members:
 - Mr Mick ANTONIW, Member of the National Assembly for Wales
 - Ms Paula BAKER, Councillor, Basingstoke and Deane Council
 - Mr Anthony Gerard BUCHANAN, Councillor, East Renfrewshire Council
 - Ms Dee SHARPE, Councillor, East Riding of Yorkshire Council

and

- b) as alternate members:
 - Ms Barbara GRANT, Councillor, East Renfrewshire Council
 - Mr Stewart GOLTON, Councillor, Leeds Council
 - Ms Margaret LISHMAN, *Councillor, Burnley Council.*
- 5. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that <u>the Council</u> adopt the Decision in doc. 9367/13 CDR 60 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 6. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.