

## **COUNCIL OF** THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 24 May 2013

9984/13

**CDR 73** 

## "I/A" ITEM NOTE

General Secretariat of the Council from: Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council to: Subject: Committee of the Regions - Appointment of three members and three alternate members (MT)

- 1. The Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end of the terms of office of Ms Claudette ABELA BALDACCHINO, Mr Michael COHEN and Mr Malcolm MIFSUD, members of the Committee of the Regions, and Ms Doris BORG and Mr Ian BORG, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions.
- 2. An alternate member's seat will become vacant following the appointment of Mr Paul FARRUGIA as member of the Committee of the Regions.
- 3. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.

- In accordance with that provision, the Maltese Government has proposed <sup>1</sup> for the remainder 4. of the current term of office, which ends on 25 January 2015: as members: a) Mr Peter BONELLO, Mayor of San Ġiljan
  - Mr Paul FARRUGIA, Mayor of Hal Tarxien
  - Dr Marc SANT, Councillor, Hal Lija Local Council

and

- as alternate members: b)
  - Mr Jesmond AQUILINA, Deputy Mayor of Hal Qormi
  - Mr Anthony MIFSUD, Councillor, Imtarfa Local Council
  - Mr Raymond TABONE, Councillor, San Pawl il-Bahar Local Council.
- 5. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision in doc. 9983/13 CDR 72 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 6. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.

cf. doc. 9982/13 CDR 71.

9984/13 GC/jl DRI