

## COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 21 June 2013

11262/13

RECH 308 ATO 64 OC 428

### NOTE

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Delegations
Subject:	Draft Council Decision appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee
	COMMON GUIDELINES
	Consultation deadline: 02.07.2013

- In view of the meeting of the Joint Research/Atomic Questions Working Party of 24 June 2013, delegations will find attached a draft Council Decision appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee.
- 2. The present members of the Scientific and Technical Committee (STC) were appointed by the Council Decision of 13 November 2012 appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee<sup>1</sup> for the period of 23 January 2013 to 22 January 2018.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ C 360, 22.11.2012, p. 2.

- 3. However, by virtue of Article 26(2) of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Croatia<sup>1</sup>, the membership of the STC should be completely renewed upon the accession of Croatia to the European Union.
- 4. As the accession of the Republic of Croatia to the European Union becomes effective on 1 July 2013, new members of the STC should therefore be appointed.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L 112, 24.4.2012, p. 21.

# DRAFT COUNCIL DECISION

### appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 134 thereof;

Having consulted the Commission;

Whereas:

(1) Article 134(2) of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, as amended by Article 11 of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Croatia, provides that the Scientific and Technical Committee is to consist of the forty-two members.

(2) By its Decision of 13 November 2012<sup>1</sup>, the Council appointed the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee for the period of 23 January 2013 to 22 January 2018. However, by virtue of Article 26(2) of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Croatia and the adjustments to the Treaty on European Union, the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community<sup>2</sup>, the membership of the Scientific and Technical Committee should be completely renewed upon the accession of Croatia to the European Union. Therefore, new members should be appointed.

(3) In order to allow the Scientific and Technical Committee to make full use of the wide range of expertise required in fulfilling its tasks, the Committee may, subject to its internal rules, call on alternates to the members to participate in its meetings,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

<sup>1</sup> OJ C 360, 22.11.2012, p. 2.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> OJ L 112, 24.4.2012, p. 21.

### Sole Article

The following are hereby appointed members of the Scientific and Technical Committee for the period of 25 July 2013 to 24 July 2018:

Rosa ALBA Gabriel MARBACH
Vanni ANTONI José MARQUES
Kathrin APEL Emilio MÍNGUEZ
Evgenia BENOVA Martin MURRAY

Bernard BONIN Jerzy Wiktor NIEWODNICZAŃSKI

Michel BOURGUIGNON Milan PATRÍK
Frank BRISCOE Pavol PAVLO

Panicos DEMETRIADES Rainer SALOMAA

Daniela DIACONU Jean-Paul SAMAIN

Tony DONNÉ Edouard SINNER

James DRAKE Borut SMODIŠ

Juan ESPOSITO Thomas SUNN PEDERSEN

János GADÓ Tonči TADIĆ
Carlos HIDALGO VERA Ioan URSU

Kyriakos HIZANIDIS Eugenijus USPURAS

Sue ION Theo VAN RENTERGEM

Eugene KENNEDY

Carlos VARANDAS

Jan Leen KLOOSTERMAN

Franck-Peter WEIß

Wolfgang LIEBERT

Roman ZAGÓRSKI

Peter LÍŠKA

Sándor ZOLETNIK

Merle LUST

Jens-Peter LYNOV

Done at Brussels,

For the Council

The President