

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 16 July 2013 (OR. en)

11518/13

RECH 319 ATO 67

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

Subject:COUNCIL DECISION renewing the membership of the Scientific and
Technical Committee and repealing the Decision of 13 November 2012
appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee

COUNCIL DECISION

of

renewing the membership of the Scientific and Technical Committee and repealing the Decision of 13 November 2012 appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 134(2) thereof,

After consulting the European Commission,

Whereas:

- Article 134(2) of the Treaty, as amended by Article 11 of the Act of Accession of Croatia, provides that the Scientific and Technical Committee is to consist of forty-two members.
- (2) By the Decision of 13 November 2012¹, the Council appointed the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee for the period from 23 January 2013 to 22 January 2018. However, by virtue of Article 26(2) of the Act of Accession of Croatia, the membership of the Scientific and Technical Committee is to be completely renewed upon Croatia's accession. Therefore, new members of the Committee should be appointed and the Decision of 13 November 2012 should be repealed.
- (3) In order to make full use of the wide range of expertise required to fulfil its tasks, the Scientific and Technical Committee may, subject to its internal rules, call on alternates to the members to participate in its meetings,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

¹ Council Decision of 13 November 2012 appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee (OJ C 360, 22.11.2012, p. 2).

Article 1

The following persons are hereby appointed members of the Scientific and Technical Committee for the period from 25 July 2013 to 24 July 2018:

Rosa ALBA	Gabriel MARBACH
Vanni ANTONI	José MARQUES
Kathrin APEL	Emilio MÍNGUEZ
Evgenia BENOVA	Martin MURRAY
Bernard BONIN	Jerzy Wiktor NIEWODNICZAŃSKI
Michel BOURGUIGNON	Milan PATRÍK
Frank BRISCOE	PavolPAVLO
Panicos DEMETRIADES	Rainer SALOMAA
Daniela DIACONU	Jean-Paul SAMAIN
Tony DONNÉ	Edouard SINNER
James DRAKE	Borut SMODIŠ
Juan ESPOSITO	Thomas SUNN PEDERSEN
János GADÓ	Tonči TADIĆ
Carlos HIDALGO VERA	Ioan URSU
Kyriakos HIZANIDIS	Eugenijus USPURAS
Sue ION	Theo VAN RENTERGEM
Eugene KENNEDY	Carlos VARANDAS
Jan Leen KLOOSTERMAN	Franck-Peter WEIß
Wolfgang LIEBERT	Roman ZAGÓRSKI
Peter LÍŠKA	Sándor ZOLETNIK
Merle LUST	

Jens-Peter LYNOV

Article 2

The Decision of 13 November 2012 is hereby repealed with effect from 25 July 2013.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on the day of its adoption.

Done at Brussels,

For the Council The President