

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 13 January 2012

5255/12

CDR 6

"I/A" ITEM NOTE

from :	General Secretariat of the Council
to :	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council
Subject :	Committee of the Regions
_	- Appointment of five members and five alternate members (CZ)

- The Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end of the terms of office of Mr Pavel BÉM, Mr Jiří BYTEL, Mr Jan KUBATA, Ms Helena LANGŠÁDLOVÁ and Mr Juraj THOMA, members of the Committee of the Regions, and Ms Ivana ČERVINKOVÁ, Mr Tomáš CHALUPA, Ms Milada EMMEROVÁ, Ms Sylva KOVÁČIKOVÁ and Mr Tomáš ÚLEHLA, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions.
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.
- 3. In accordance with that provision, the Czech Government has proposed for the remainder of the current term of office, which ends on 25 January 2015:

a) as members:

- Mr Ondřej BENEŠÍK, starosta obce Strání
- Ms Štěpánka FRAŇKOVÁ, primátorka statutárního města Pardubic
- Mr Dan JIRÁNEK, primátor statutárního města Kladna
- Mr Petr OSVALD, zastupitel statutárního města Plzně
- Mr Juraj THOMA, primátor statutárního města Českých Budějovic

and

- b) as alternate members:
 - Mr Pavel BRANDA, místostarosta obce Rádlo
 - Ms Jana ČERMÁKOVÁ, místostarostka obce Proboštov
 - Ms Sylva KOVÁČIKOVÁ, zastupitelka města Bílovec
 - Mr Jan MAREŠ, primátor statutárního města Chomutova
 - Mr Robert ZEMAN, místostarosta města Prachatic.
- 4. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that <u>the Council</u> adopt the Decision in doc. 5254/12 CDR 5 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.