

## **EUROPEAN UNION**



Brussels, 28 February 2012 7053/12 PRESSE 74

## Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with the Council Decision 2011/859/CFSP amending Council Decision 2010/232/CFSP regarding restrictive measures against Burma/Myanmar

On 19 December 2011, the Council adopted Decision 2011/859/CFSP<sup>1</sup>. The Council Decision amends the lists of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures against Burma/Myanmar as set out in Annex I to Council Decision 2010/232/CFSP.

The Acceding Country Croatia\*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia\*, Montenegro\* and Iceland<sup>+</sup>, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Serbia, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Armenia align themselves with this decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.



Published on 21.12.2011 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 338, p. 55.

<sup>\*</sup> Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.