

EUROPEAN UNION



Brussels, 28 February 2012 7057/1/12 REV 1 PRESSE 76

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with the Council Decision 2011/783/CFSP and Council Decision 2012/35/CFSP amending Decision 2010/413/CFSP concerning restrictive measures against Iran

On 1st December 2011, the Council adopted Council Decision 2011/783/CFSP¹. The Council Decision amends the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in Annex II to Decision 2010/413/CFSP.

On 23 January 2012, the Council adopted Council Decision 2012/35/CFSP². The Council Decision imposes additional restrictive measures against Iran and amends the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in Annex II to Decision 2010/413/CFSP.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Iceland, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Serbia, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova align themselves with these decisions.

Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.



¹ Published on 2.12.2011 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 319, p.

² Published on 24.01.2012 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 19, p.

Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to these Council Decisions.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

7057/1/12 REV 1