

EUROPEAN UNION



Brussels, 4 April 2012 8574/12 PRESSE 151

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the **European Union on the alignment of certain third countries** with the Council Decision 2012/97/CFSP amending Decision 2011/101/CFSP concerning the restrictive measures against **Zimbabwe**

On 17 February 2012, the Council adopted Council Decision 2012/97/CFSP¹. The Council Decision updates the information relating to the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures in the Annex to Decision 2011/101/CFSP, and extends the measures until 20 February 2013 as set out in article 10.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland and Serbia*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Albania, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, and Georgia, align themselves with this Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.



Published on 18.02.2012 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 47, p. 50

Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.