

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 29 June 2012

12008/12

CDR 67

"I/A" ITEM NOTE

from: General Secretariat of the Council to: Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council Subject: Committee of the Regions - Appointment of six members and eight alternate members (BU)

- 1. The Secretary General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end of the term of office of Ms Katya DOYCHEVA, Ms Dora IANKOVA, Mr Orhan MUMUN, Ms Penka PENKOVA, Mr Georgi SLAVOV and Mr Bozhidar YOTOV, members of the Committee of the Regions, and Mr Ivo ANDONOV, Ms Shukran IDRIZ, Mr Veselin LICHEV, Mr Rumen RASHEV, Mr Svetlin TANCHEV and Mr Nayden ZELENOGORSKI, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions.
- 2. Two alternate members' seats will become vacant following the appointment of Mr Ahmed AHMEDOV and Mr Krassimir KOSTOV as members of the Committee of the Regions.
- 3. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.

DRI

- 4. In accordance with that provision, the Bulgarian Government has proposed ¹ for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2015:
 - a) as members:
 - Mr Ahmed AHMEDOV, Mayor, Municipality of Tsar Kaloyan
 - Ms Tanya HRISTOVA, Mayor, Municipality of Gabrovo
 - Mr Krassimir KOSTOV, Mayor, Municipality of Shumen
 - Mr Madzhid MANDADZHA, Mayor, Municipality of Stambolovo
 - Mr Zhivko TODOROV, Mayor, Municipality of Stara Zagora
 - Mr Luydmil VESSELINOV, Mayor, Municipality of Popovo.

and

- b) as alternate members:
 - Mr Nida AHMEDOV, Mayor, Municipality of Kaolinovo
 - Mr Ivan ALEKSIEV, Mayor, Municipality of Pomorie
 - Mr Atanas KAMBITOV, Mayor, Municipality of Blagoevgrad
 - Ms Kornelia MARINOVA, Municipal Councillor, Municipality of Lovech
 - Ms Sebihan MEHMED, Mayor, Municipality of Krumovgrad
 - Ms Anastassya MLADENOVA, Municipal Councillor, Municipality of Peshtera
 - Mr Fahri MOLAYSSENOV, Mayor, Municipality of Madan
 - Mr Georgi SLAVOV, Mayor, Municipality of Yambol.

_

12008/12 GC/jl 2 DRI EN

¹ cf. doc. 12006/12 CDR 65.

- 5. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision in doc. 12007/12 CDR 66 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 6. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.