

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 4 September 2012

13366/12

CDR 87

"I/A" ITEM NOTE

from: General Secretariat of the Council
to: Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council
Subject: Committee of the Regions
- Appointment of two members and three alternate members (CY)

- 1. The Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end of the terms of office of Mr Savvas ELIOFOTOU and Mr Evyenios MICHAIL, members of the Committee of the Regions, and Mr Andreas MOUSEOS, Mr Andreas HADZILOIZOU and Mr Christofis ANTONIOU, alternate member of the Committee of the Regions.
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.
- 3. In accordance with that provision, the Cyprus Government has proposed ¹ for the remainder of the current term of office, which ends on 25 January 2015:

¹ cf. doc. 13364/12 CDR 85.

- a) as members:
 - Ms Louisa MAVROMMÁTI, Αντιδήμαρχος Έγκωμης
 - Mr Louis KOUMENIDES, Πρόεδρος Κ.Σ. Κάτω Λευκάρων

and

- b) as alternate members:
 - Mr Sávvas VÉRGAS, Δήμαρχος Πάφου
 - Mr Glavkos KARIÓLOU, Δήμαρχος Κερύνειας
 - Mr Georgios IAKOVOU, Πρόεδρος Κ.Σ. Αγίων Τριμιθιάς.
- 4. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that <u>the Council</u> adopt the Decision in doc. 13365/12 CDR 86 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.

13366/12 GC/jl Z