

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 9 September 2012

14743/12

RECH 364 ATO 138

NOTE	
From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Delegations
Subject:	Draft Council Decision appointing the members of the Euratom Scientific and Technical Committee

Following the meeting of the Joint Research/Atomic Questions Working Party on 20 September 2012, delegations will find attached a draft Council decision appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee.

The changes are indicated in strikethrough and **bold underlined** in comparison to ST 13798/12.

## DRAFT

# **COUNCIL DECISION**

#### appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee

### THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 134 thereof;

Having regard to the opinion of consulted the Commission;

Whereas:

- By its Decision of 22 January 2008<sup>1</sup>, the Council appointed the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee for the period of 22 January 2008 to 22 January 2013,
- (2) In order to allow the Scientific and Technical Committee to make full use of the wide range of expertise required in fulfilling its tasks, the Committee may, subject to its internal rules, call on alternates to the members to participate in its meetings,
- (3) Article 134(2) of the EAEC Treaty has been amended by Article 11 of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Croatia, and accordingly, it will be necessary to implement this provision on the occasion of the accession the Republic of Croatia;

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ C 21, 26.1.2008, p.2.

### HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

## Sole Article

The following are hereby appointed members of the Scientific and Technical Committee for the period 23 January 2013 to 22 January 2018:

Bertrand BARRE Jānis BĒRZIŅŠ Sten BJURSTRÖM Michel BOURGUIGNON Franck BRISCOE Michel CHATELIER Pavel CHRÁSKA Maurizio CUMO **Panicos DEMETRIADES** Daniela DIACONU Allan DUNCAN Sue ION Leonidas KAMARINOPOULOS Michael KAUFMANN Jørgen KJEMS Jan-Leen KLOOSTERMAN Latchezar Krumov KOSTOV Zdeněk KŘĺŽ Walter KUTSCHERA Peter LIŠKA Carlo LOMBARDI Cayetano LÓPEZ

José Maria MARTÍNEZ-VAL PEÑALOSA Júlio Martins MONTALVÃO E SILVA Jerzy Wiktor NIEWODNICZAŃSKI Tom O'FLAHERTY Enn REALO Francesco ROMANELLI Michael SAILER Rainer SALOMAA Jean-Paul SAMAIN Edouard SINNER Borut SMODIŠ Zoltán SZATMÁRY Ioan URSU Eugenijus USPURAS Theofiel VAN RENTERGEM Carlos VARANDAS Adrianus H. M.VERKOOIJEN Andreas M.VERSTEEGH Hans-Josef ZIMMER Sándor ZOLETNIK

Done at Brussels,

For the Council The President