

## COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

**Brussels, 18 October 2012** 

15138/12

**CDR 121** 

## "I/A" ITEM NOTE

from : General Secretariat of the Council
to : Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council
Subject : Committee of the Regions
- Appointment of three members and two alternate members (UK)

- The Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end
  of the terms of office of Mr Jonathan BELL, Mr Iain MALCOLM and Ms Irene
  OLDFATHER, members of the Committee of the Regions, and Mr Ted BROCKLEBANK
  and Mr Nicol STEPHEN, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions.
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.
- 3. In accordance with that provision, the United Kingdom Government has proposed <sup>1</sup> for the remainder of the current term of office, which ends on 25 January 2015:

.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> cf. doc. 15136/12 CDR 119.

- a) as members:
  - Ms Patricia FERGUSON MSP, Member of the Scottish Parliament
  - Mr Paul WATSON, Councillor
  - Mr Trevor CUMMINGS, Councillor

and

- b) as alternate members:
  - Mr Jim HUME MSP, Member of the Scottish Parliament
  - Mr Jamie McGRIGOR MSP, Member of the Scottish Parliament.
- 4. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that <u>the Council</u> adopt the Decision in doc. 15137/12 CDR 120 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.

15138/12 GC/jl DRI EN