

## **EUROPEAN UNION**



Brussels, 1 November 2012 15749/12 PRESSE 461

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the **European Union on the alignment of certain third countries** with Council Decision 2012/635/CFSP amending Council Decision 2010/413/CFSP concerning restrictive measures against Iran and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 945/2012 implementing Council Regulation (EU) No 267/2012 concerning restrictive measures against Iran

On 15 October 2012, the Council adopted Decision 2012/635/CFSP<sup>1</sup> amending Council Decision 2010/413/CFSP and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 945/2012<sup>2</sup> implementing Council Regulation (EU) No 267/2012.

Council Decision 2012/635/CFSP establishes additional restrictive measures against Iran in the financial, trade, energy and transport sectors. In particular, the Decision prohibits transactions between European and Iranian banks, unless authorised in advance, with the exception of humanitarian needs. Furthermore, the restrictive measures against the Central Bank of Iran are strengthened.

Also, further export restrictions are imposed, notably for graphite, metals, software for industrial processes, as well as relating to the ship building industry. The import of natural gas from Iran is also prohibited.

Council Decision 2012/635/CFSP and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 945/2012 also establish amendments to Annex II to Decision 2010/413/CFSP and Annex IX to Council Regulation (EU) No 267/2012 concerning designations.

Published on 16.10.2012 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 282, p. 16.



Published on 16.10.2012 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 282,

The Acceding Country Croatia\*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia\*, Montenegro\*, Iceland and Serbia\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Albania, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, align themselves with this declaration.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

15749/12

EN