

EUROPEAN UNION



Brussels, 1 November 2012 15746/12 PRESSE 459

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with the Council Decision 2012/634/CFSP amending Council Decision 2011/782/CFSP and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 944/2012 concerning restrictive measures against Syria

On 15 October 2012, the Council adopted Decision 2012/634/CFSP¹ amending Council Decision 2011/782/CFSP and Council Implementing Regulation (EU)² No 944/2012 implementing Regulation (EU) No 36/2012.

The Decision prohibits the purchase, import or transport of arms from Syria, as well as the provision of related financing or financial assistance. Furthermore, the access of Syrian Arab Airlines to the airports of EU Member States is prohibited, in addition to the existing prohibition on access of cargo flights from Syria.

Council Decision 2012/634/CFSP and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 782/2012 also establish amendments to Annex I to Decision 2011/782/CFSP and Annex II to Council Regulation (EU) No 36/2012, including additional designations of persons and entities.

Published on 16.10.2012 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 282, p. 50.



Published on 16.10.2012 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 282, p. 50.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland and Serbia*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Albania, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Georgia, align themselves with this declaration.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

15746/12

EN

Figure 1 to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.