

European Cooperation in Science and Technology - COST - **Brussels, 6 November 2012**

Secretariat

COST 4160/12

NOTE

From: **CSO President**

COST Committee of Senior Officials (CSO) To

Subject: 186th meeting of the CSO, agenda item 6

- Appointment of a new JAF member

It is recalled that the procedure for appointing members of JAF, approved by the CSO at its meeting on 1-2 December 2004, 1 stipulates that:

"CSO members may propose candidates for membership of JAF. The President shall elaborate a list of candidates, after having ascertained that they are willing to join JAF. This list shall be communicated to CSO members at least two weeks before the meeting at which the appointment will take place. If the number of candidates equals the number of outgoing JAF members, the list of candidates must have the support of the majority of all COST Member States."

COST 4160/12 DG G III C

Summary of Conclusions of the 160th CSO meeting, doc. COST 341/04, item 8, page 10 and Annex 3, page 22.

In June 2012 the CSO appointed Mr Jean-Paul COURBEBAISSE (FR) as a JAFmember for a mandate of three years. However, as he has resigned from the CSO and consequently also from the JAF Group, a new JAF member should be appointed.

In line with the previous practice in similar occasions, it is proposed that Mr Antoine MERCIER (FR) would be appointed as a member of the JAF Group for the remaining period of the mandate, i.e. until June 2015.

The current composition of the JAF Group as well as information on the former appointed members is set out in attachment.

COST 4160/12 DG G III C

Current composition of the JAF Group

Arif ADLI (TR)	04/2012 - 06/2013
Lieve VAN DAELE (BE)	06/2011 - 06/2014
Rita WARD (IE)	06/2011 - 06/2014
Jean-Paul COURBEBAISSE	06/2012 - 06/2015
Stefan CAIREN	06/2012 - 06/2015

Former appointed members

Helga MIELING (AT)	06/2004 - 06/2005
Marek ZDANOWSKI (PL)	06/2004 - 06/2005
John BARTZIS (EL)	06/2004 - 06/2006
Gorm BRAMSNAES (DK)	06/2004 - 06/2006
Hendrik MONARD (BE)	06/2004 - 06/2007
Esteban MANRIQUE REOL (ES)	$06/2005 - 02/2006^1$
* Luis DELGADO (ES)	$03/2006 - 07/2007^2$
* Ángeles RODRIGUEZ PEÑA (ES)	11/2007 - 06/2008
Eva KLAPER (CH)	06/2005 - 06/2008
Michel GORLICKI (FR)	06/2006 - 06/2009
Albena VUTSOVA (BG)	06/2006 - 06/2009
Julia KIPPER ALBERTINI (DE)	$06/2008 - 03/2010^3$
Chris REILLY (UK)	06/2007 - 06/2010
Ülle MUST (EE)	06/2008 - 06/2011
Marion WOLPERS (DE)	03/2010 - 06/2011
Omer CEBECI (TR)	06/2010 - 12/2011 ⁴
Maija BUNDULE (LV)	06/2009 - 06/2012
Carlo DUPREL (LU)	06/2009 - 06/2012

Original mandate 06/2005 - 06/2008; resigned from the CSO 02/2006.

Resigned from the CSO in 07/2007.

³ Original mandate until 06/2011.

⁴ Original mandate until 06/2013.