

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 6 November 2012

15720/12

SPORT 62 DOPAGE 17 SAN 263 JAI 753

REPORT

from:	General Secretariat of the Council
to	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 1) / Council
Subject:	WADA Foundation Board
	- Selection of the EU Representatives (2013-2015)

The terms of membership for members of the World Anti-doping Agency (WADA)
 Foundation Board has followed the principle of three year rotation. The exception to this
 principle has been the three of the five Government representatives from the European region
 as the EU Member States have operated on the troika principle whereby terms rotated every
 18 month periods in line with the EU Presidency. As from 1 January 2013 there will be
 changes to these three seats as the EU Member States will be seeking to implement three year
 terms and that they would not necessarily be filled by the EU Presidencies any more.

- 2. It is to be recalled that the Council Resolution of November 2011 set out new arrangements regarding EU Member States representation in the Foundation Board of WADA as from 1 January 2013¹. According to this Resolution, the representatives of the EU Member States in the Foundation Board of WADA shall be at ministerial level and that the seats be allocated as follows:
 - one seat should be allocated to one of the Member States forming the incumbent Trio Presidency (IE, LT, EL);
 - one seat should be allocated to one of the Member States forming the future Trio Presidency (IT, LV, LU);
 - one seat should be jointly allocated by the Member States meeting within the Council to a person responsible for sport at ministerial level with appropriate experience and knowledge ("expert at governmental level").
- Following discussions at the Working Party on Sport of 5 November, the Committee of Permanent Representatives could
 - i) invite the Council to designate the three EU representatives of the Foundation Board of the WADA for a three year period beginning 1 January 2013 as follows:
 - Mr Leo VARADKAR, Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport (Ireland)
 - Mr Romain SCHNEIDER, Sports Minister (Grand Duchy of Luxembourg)
 - Mr Alexandre Miguel MESTRE Secretary of State for Sport and Youth (Portugal)
 - authorise the Presidency to communicate the names of the designated candidates to WADA.

Resolution of the Council and the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States, meeting within the Council on the representation of the EU Member States in the Foundation Board of WADA and the coordination of the EU and its Member States' positions prior to WADA meetings (OJ 2011/C 372/02, 20.12.2011).