

Brussels, 18 April 2016 (OR. en)

7419/16

Interinstitutional File: 2016/0041 (NLE)

COEST 80 ELARG 31

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

Subject:

Protocol to the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement establishing a Partnership between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and Turkmenistan, of the other part, to take account of the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, Romania, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union

PROTOCOL

ESTABLISHING A PARTNERSHIP

BETWEEN THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

AND THEIR MEMBER STATES, OF THE ONE PART,

AND TURKMENISTAN, OF THE OTHER PART,

TO TAKE ACCOUNT OF THE ACCESSION

OF THE REPUBLIC OF BULGARIA, THE CZECH REPUBLIC,

THE REPUBLIC OF ESTONIA, THE REPUBLIC OF CROATIA,

THE REPUBLIC OF CYPRUS, THE REPUBLIC OF LATVIA,

THE REPUBLIC OF LITHUANIA, HUNGARY, THE REPUBLIC OF MALTA,

THE REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA AND THE SLOVAK REPUBLIC

TO THE EUROPEAN UNION

THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM,
THE REPUBLIC OF BULGARIA,
THE CZECH REPUBLIC,
THE KINGDOM OF DENMARK,
THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY,
THE REPUBLIC OF ESTONIA,
IRELAND,
THE HELLENIC REPUBLIC,
THE KINGDOM OF SPAIN,
THE FRENCH REPUBLIC,
THE REPUBLIC OF CROATIA,
THE ITALIAN REPUBLIC,
THE REPUBLIC OF CYPRUS,

THE REPUBLIC OF LATVIA,
THE REPUBLIC OF LITHUANIA,
THE GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG,
HUNGARY,
THE REPUBLIC OF MALTA,
THE KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS,
THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA,
THE REPUBLIC OF POLAND,
THE PORTUGUESE REPUBLIC,
ROMANIA,
THE REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA,
THE SLOVAK REPUBLIC,
THE REPUBLIC OF FINLAND,

THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND,
Contracting Parties to the Treaty on European Union, the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, hereinafter referred to as the "Member States",
and
THE EUROPEAN UNION, hereinafter referred to as the "Union"
and
THE EUROPEAN ATOMIC ENERGY COMMUNITY,
of the one part,
and
TURKMENISTAN,

THE KINGDOM OF SWEDEN,

hereinafter referred to together as "the Contracting Parties",

of the other part,

WHEREAS the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement establishing a partnership between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and Turkmenistan, of the other part ("the Agreement"), was signed in Brussels on 25 May 1998,

TAKING INTO ACCOUNT the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union on 1 May 2004, the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria and of Romania to the European Union on 1 January 2007, and the accession of the Republic of Croatia to the European Union on 1 July 2013,

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 6(2) of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic and the adjustments to the Treaties on which the European Union is founded, their accession to the Agreement is to be agreed by the conclusion of a protocol to the Agreement,

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 6(2) of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Bulgaria and Romania and the adjustments to the Treaties on which the European Union is founded, their accession to the Agreement is to be agreed by the conclusion of a protocol to the Agreement,

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 6(2) of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Croatia and the adjustments to the Treaty on European Union, the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, its accession to the Agreement is to be agreed by the conclusion of a protocol to the Agreement,

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE 1

The Republic of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, Romania, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic hereby become Contracting Parties to the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement establishing a partnership between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and Turkmenistan, of the other part and, in the same manner as the other Member States, shall adopt the texts of the Agreement, of the Protocol and of the Joint Declarations annexed to the Final Act signed on the same date as the Agreement and shall take note of the Exchange of Letters and the Declaration annexed to that Final Act.

ARTICLE 2

After the signature of this Protocol, the Union shall communicate to the Member States and Turkmenistan the Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Estonian, Hungarian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Romanian, Slovak and Slovenian language versions of the Agreement. Subject to the entry into force of this Protocol, the language versions referred to in the first sentence shall become authentic under the same conditions as the Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish and Turkmen language versions of the Agreement.

ARTICLE 3

This Protocol shall form an integral part of the Agreement.

ARTICLE 4

- 1. This Protocol shall be subject to ratification, acceptance or approval in accordance with the Contracting Parties' own procedures. The Contracting Parties shall notify each other of the completion of the procedures necessary for that purpose. The notifications shall be deposited with the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union.
- 2. Subject to the entry into force of the Agreement, this Protocol shall enter into force on the first day of the first month following the date of deposit of the last notification.

ARTICLE 5

This Protocol is drawn up in duplicate in the Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish and Turkmen languages, each of these texts being equally authentic.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned Plenipotentiaries, duly authorised to this effect, have signed this Protocol.

FOR THE EUROPEAN UNION

FOR THE MEMBER STATES

FOR THE EUROPEAN ATOMIC ENERGY COMMUNITY

FOR TURKMENISTAN