

Brussels, 5 September 2016 (OR. en)

11603/16

ACP 122 PTOM 31 FIN 507

'I/A' ITEM NOTE

From:	ACP Working Party
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee/Council
Subject:	CTA – Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation - Appointment of a member to the Executive Board

In accordance with Decision No 1/2015 of the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors of 12 October 2015 appointing a member to the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA), the term of office of a member of the Executive Board will expire on 6 November 2016.

On 19 July 2016, the ACP Working Party agreed upon the attached draft Decision appointing a member to the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA).

The ACP Working Party agreed to suggest that the Permanent Representatives Committee recommend that the Council, as an "A" item on its agenda:

- approve the draft Decision as set out in the Annex;
- decide to forward the draft Decision to the ACP side for adoption by the ACP-EU Committee
 of Ambassadors by exchange of letters.

11603/16 KH/br 1
DG C 1 EN

Draft

DECISION No xx/2016 OF THE ACP-EU COMMITTEE OF AMBASSADORS of xxx

appointing a member to the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)

THE ACP-EU COMMITTEE OF AMBASSADORS,

Having regard to the Partnership Agreement between the members of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part, signed in Cotonou on 23 June 2000¹, as first amended in Luxembourg on 25 June 2005² and as amended for the second time in Ouagadougou on 22 June 2010³, and in particular Article 3(5) of Annex III thereof,

Having regard to Decision No 5/2013 of the ACP-EC Committee of Ambassadors of 7 November 2013 on the Statutes of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)⁴, and in particular Article 5(4) of the Annex thereof;

_

OJ L 317, 15.12.2000, p. 3.

Agreement amending the Partnership Agreement between the members of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part, signed in Cotonou on 23 June 2000 (OJ L 209, 11.8.2005, p. 27).

Agreement amending for the second time the Partnership Agreement between the members of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part, signed in Cotonou on 23 June 2000, as first amended in Luxembourg on 25 June 2005 (OJ L 287, 4.11.2010, p. 3).

OJ L 309, 19.11.2013, p. 50.

Whereas:

- (1) Article 5(4) of the Statutes of the CTA provides that the members of the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA) shall be appointed by the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors in accordance with the procedures laid down by the Committee for a period of up to five years, subject to a mid-term review.
- (2) In accordance with Decision No 1/2015 of the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors of 12 October 2015 appointing a member to the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)⁵, the term of office of a member of the Executive Board will expire on 6 November 2016.
- (3) In accordance with its Article 95 (1), the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement will expire on 29 February 2020. It is therefore necessary to appoint a new member of the Executive Board for the remaining period before the expiry of the Agreement,

⁵ OJ L 278, 23.10.2015, p. 26.

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The following person shall be appointed a member of the Executive Board of the CTA:

- Ms Frederike PRAASTERINK.

Article 2

Without prejudice to any subsequent decisions that the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors might have to take in the framework of its prerogatives, the Executive Board of the CTA shall be composed as follows:

Ms Frederike PRAASTERINK,

whose term of office expires on 29 February 2020, as well as

- Prof. Baba Y. ABUBAKAR,
- Prof. Augusto Manuel CORREIA,
- Ms Helena JOHANSSON,
- Dr Faustin R. KAMUZORA, and
- Prof. Clement K. SANKAT,

whose term of office expires on 6 November 2018.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels,

For the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors

The Chairman

www.parlament.gv.at