

Council of the European Union

> Brussels, 31 January 2017 (OR. en)

5630/17

CDR 11

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

Subject:	COUNCIL DECISION appointing two members and two alternate
-	members, proposed by the Slovak Republic, of the Committee of the
	Regions

COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2016/

of ...

appointing two members and two alternate members, proposed by the Slovak Republic, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal of the Slovak Government,

GIP 1B

Whereas:

- (1) On 26 January 2015, 5 February 2015 and 23 June 2015, the Council adopted Decisions
 (EU) 2015/116¹, 2015/190² and 2015/994³ appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020.
- (2) Two members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the end of the terms of office of Mr Vladimír BAJAN and Mr Peter CHUDÍK.
- (3) An alternate member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the end of the term of office of Mr Radoslav ČUHA.
- (4) An alternate member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the appointment of Mr Ján FERENČÁK as a member of the Committee of the Regions,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

GIP 1B

Council Decision (EU) 2015/116 of 26 January 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 20, 27.1.2015, p. 42).

² Council Decision (EU) 2015/190 of 5 February 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 31, 7.2.2015, p. 25).

³ Council Decision (EU) 2015/994 of 23 June 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 159, 25.6.2015, p. 70).

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2020:

(a) as members:

- Mr Ján FERENČÁK, Mayor of Kežmarok,
- Mr Miloslav REPASKÝ, Member of the regional parliament of the Prešov Self-Governing Region,
- (b) as alternate members:
 - Mr Ľuboš TOMKO, Mayor of Stará Ľubovňa,
 - Mr Miroslav BENKO, Member of the regional parliament of the Prešov Self-Governing Region.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels,

For the Council The President

GIP 1B