

## COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

## **Brussels, 27 February 2014**

7067/14

**CDR 27** 

## "I/A" ITEM NOTE

from: General Secretariat of the Council
to: Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council
Subject: Committee of the Regions
- Appointment of four members (UK)

- The Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end
  of the terms of office of Ms Doris ANSARI, Sir Simon DAY, Mr David PARSONS and Mr
  Francie MOLLOY, members of the Committee of the Regions.
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.
- 3. In accordance with that provision, the United Kingdom Government has proposed as members <sup>1</sup> for the remainder of the current term of office, which ends on 25 January 2015:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> cf. doc. 7065/14 CDR 25.

- Ms Megan FEARON, Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) of Northern Ireland
- Mr Andrew LEWER, Councillor, Derbyshire County Council
- Ms Jill SHORTLAND, Councillor, Somerset County Council
- Mr Harvey SIGGS, Councillor, Somerset County Council.
- The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that the Council 4. adopt the Decision in doc. 7066/13 CDR 26 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.

7067/14 GC/jl

DRI