

Council of the European Union

> Brussels, 8 August 2017 (OR. en)

11633/17 ADD 1

Interinstitutional File: 2017/0172 (NLE)

> ACP 89 WTO 176 RELEX 692 COLAC 72 DEVGEN 185

# PROPOSAL

| From:            | Secretary-General of the European Commission,<br>signed by Mr Jordi AYET PUIGARNAU, Director   |
|------------------|--|
| date of receipt: | 27 July 2017   |
| То:              | Mr Jeppe TRANHOLM-MIKKELSEN, Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union  |
| No. Cion doc.:   | COM(2017) 396 final - ANNEX 1  |
| Subject:         | ANNEX to the Proposal for a Council Decision on the position to be<br>adopted, on behalf of the European Union, in the Joint CARIFORUM-EU<br>Council of the Economic Partnership Agreement between the<br>CARIFORUM States, of the one part, and the European Community and its<br>Member States, of the other part, as regards the amendment of Annex IX<br>to Protocol I: Overseas countries and territories |

Delegations will find attached document COM(2017) 396 final - ANNEX 1.

Encl.: COM(2017) 396 final - ANNEX 1



EUROPEAN COMMISSION

> Brussels, 27.7.2017 COM(2017) 396 final

ANNEX 1

## ANNEX

to the

**Proposal for a Council Decision** 

on the position to be adopted, on behalf of the European Union, in the Joint CARIFORUM-EU Council of the Economic Partnership Agreement between the CARIFORUM States, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part, as regards the amendment of Annex IX to Protocol I: Overseas countries and territories

## **ATTACHMENT**

### DRAFT

### DECISION No.../2017 OF THE JOINT CARIFORUM-EU COUNCIL

of ...

established by the Economic Partnership Agreement between the CARIFORUM States, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part, concerning the amendment of Annex IX to Protocol I:Overseas countries and territories

THE JOINT CARIFORUM-EU COUNCIL

Having regard to the Economic Partnership Agreement between the CARIFORUM States, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part ("the Agreement"), and in particular Article 41 of Protocol I thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Protocol I of the Agreement *Concerning the Definition of the Concept of "Originating Products" and Methods of Administrative Cooperation* – defines Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) to mean the Overseas Countries and Territories set out in Annex IX thereto;
- (2) Following the change of status of Mayotte<sup>1</sup> and Saint-Barthélemy<sup>2</sup>, and the entry into force of Council Decision 2013/755/EU on the association of the overseas countries and territories with the European Union<sup>3</sup>, the list of overseas countries and territories in Annex IX to Protocol I of the Agreement should be updated,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

#### Article 1

Annex IX to Protocol I is replaced by the Annex which is annexed to this Decision.

#### Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on [...]

Done at [.....] on [.....] 2017.

For the CARIFORUM States

For the EU Party

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Council Decision 2012/419/EU of 11 July 2012 amending the status of Mayotte with regard to the European Union (OJ L 204, 31.7.2012, p. 131.)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Council Decision 2010/718/EU of 29 October 2010 amending the status with regard to the European Union of the island of Saint-Barthélemy (OJ L 325, 9.12.2010, p. 4.)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Council Decision 2013/755/EU on the association of the overseas countries and territories with the European Union (OJ L 76,15.3.2014, p. 56).

#### **ANNEX IX to Protocol I**

#### **Overseas countries and territories**

For the purposes of this Protocol "overseas countries and territories" means the following countries and territories referred to in Annex II to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union listed below:

(This list is without prejudice to the status of these countries and territories, or future changes in their status.)

- 1. Overseas countries and territories that have special relations with the Kingdom of Denmark:
  - Greenland.
- 2. Overseas countries and territories that have special relations with the French Republic:
  - New Caledonia and Dependencies,
  - French Polynesia,
  - Saint Pierre and Miquelon,
  - Saint Barthélemy,
  - French Southern and Antarctic Territories,
  - Wallis and Futuna.
- 3. Overseas countries and territories that have special relations with the Kingdom of the Netherlands:
  - Aruba,
  - Bonaire,
  - Curaçao,
  - Saba,
  - Sint Eustatius,
  - Sint Maarten.
- 4. Overseas countries and territories that have special relations with the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland:
  - Anguilla,
  - Bermuda,
  - Cayman Islands,

- Falkland Islands,
- South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands,
- Montserrat,
- Pitcairn,
- Saint Helena and Dependencies,
- British Antarctic Territory,
- British Indian Ocean Territory,
- Turks and Caicos Islands,
- British Virgin Islands.