

Brussels, 8 September 2017 (OR. en)

11962/17

ECOFIN 703 UEM 252 STATIS 46

'I' ITEM NOTE

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2)
Subject:	European Statistical Governance Advisory Board - nomination of new Members and a new Chair
	 Consultation by Council of the Commission and request for the approval of the European Parliament

- The European Statistical Governance Advisory Board (ESGAB) was established by
 Decision No 235/2008/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 March 2008.
 Its purpose is to provide an independent overview of the European Statistical System as regards the implementation of the European Statistics Code of Practice.
- 2. Pursuant to Article 3(3) of that Decision, the European Parliament and the Council each appoint three Members of the Board, after consulting the European Commission. In accordance with the same provision, the Council selects the nomination of the chairperson of the Board, after consulting the Commission and with the approval of the European Parliament.
- The term of office of the current Members and the Chairperson of the Board is three years.
 The current term of the three Council-appointed Members and the Chair of the Board expires on 30 January 2018.

4. On 21 August 2017 the Economic and Financial Committee (EFC) recommended that Enrico GIOVANNINI, Professor of Economic Statistics at the University of Rome, be nominated as Chairperson of ESGAB.

The EFC also recommended to the Council the following candidatures for Members of ESGAB:

- Bart DE MOOR, Full Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, KU Leuven,
 Belgium
- Jaume GARCIA, Professor of Applied Economics, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
- Algirdas ŠEMETA, Business Ombudsman of Ukraine, Vilnius, Lithuania
- 5. COREPER is therefore invited to agree:
 - to consult, in accordance with the procedure set out in Article 3(3) of Decision
 No 235/2008/EC, the European Commission on the recommended candidatures for the Members and the Chairperson of the Board;
 - to seek the European Parliament's approval for the nomination of Enrico GIOVANNINI
 as Chairperson of ESGAB, after having obtained the opinion of the European
 Commission.

11962/17 SV/sl 2
DGG 1A EN