

Brussels, 7 November 2017 (OR. en)

Interinstitutional File: 2017/0280 (NLE) 14035/17 ADD 2

AELE 73 EEE 47 N 45 ISL 40 FL 30 MI 778

PROPOSAL

From:	Secretary-General of the European Commission, signed by Mr Jordi AYET PUIGARNAU, Director
date of receipt:	6 November 2017
To:	Mr Jeppe TRANHOLM-MIKKELSEN, Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union
No. Cion doc.:	COM(2017) 638 final - ANNEX 2
Subject:	ANNEX to the Proposal for a COUNCIL DECISION on the position to be adopted on behalf of the European Union, within the EEA Joint Committee concerning amending the rules of procedure of the EEA Joint Committee

Delegations will find attached document COM(2017) 638 final - ANNEX 2.

Encl.: COM(2017) 638 final - ANNEX 2

14035/17 ADD 2 AVI/sb
DGC 2A **EN**



Brussels, 6.11.2017 COM(2017) 638 final

ANNEX 2

ANNEX

to the

Proposal for a

COUNCIL DECISION

on the position to be adopted on behalf of the European Union, within the EEA Joint Committee concerning amending the rules of procedure of the EEA Joint Committee

ANNEX 2

DECISION OF THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE

No .../2017

of

amending the rules of procedure of the EEA Joint Committee

THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement on the European Economic Area ("the EEA Agreement"), and in particular Article 92(3) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Following the Agreement on the participation of the Republic of Croatia in the European Economic Area¹ ("the 2014 EEA Enlargement Agreement") signed on 11 April 2014 in Brussels, Article 129(1) of the EEA Agreement shall be amended to add Croatian to the list of languages of the EEA Agreement.
- (2) In the rules of procedure of the EEA Joint Committee, which were adopted by Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 1/94 of 8 February 1994², amended by Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 24/2005 of 8 February 2005³, and further amended by Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No [...] of [...], Croatian should be added to the list of languages. Consequently, the list of languages to the rules of procedure of the EEA Joint Committee should therefore be amended accordingly.
- (3) The 2014 EEA Enlargement Agreement has been provisionally applicable to its signatories since 12 April 2014, and this Decision shall therefore apply provisionally pending the entry into force of the 2014 EEA Enlargement Agreement,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 1/94 is amended as follows:

1. The text of Article 6(2) is replaced by the following:

'The texts of the EC acts to be integrated into Annexes to the Agreement in accordance with Article 102(1) are equally authentic in the Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish languages as published in the *Official*

EN ₂ EN

OJ L ...

OJ L 85, 30.3.1994, p. 60.
OJ L 161, 23.6.2005, p. 54.

Journal of the European Union. They shall be drawn up in the Icelandic and Norwegian languages and shall be authenticated by the EEA Joint Committee together with the relevant decisions referred to in paragraph 1.'

2. The text of Article 11(1) is replaced by the following:

'Decisions of the EEA Joint Committee amending Annexes or Protocols to the Agreement shall be published in the Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish languages in the EEA Section of the *Official Journal of the European Union* and in the Icelandic and Norwegian languages in the EEA Supplement thereto.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on , or on the day of the entry into force of the 2014 EEA Enlargement Agreement, whichever is the later.

It shall apply provisionally from 12 April 2014.

Article 4

This Decision shall be published in the EEA Section of, and in the EEA Supplement to, the *Official Journal of the European Union*.

Done at Brussels,

For the EEA Joint Committee The President

The Secretaries to the EEA Joint Committee