

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 26 March 2014

8225/14

SOC 226

"I/A" ITEM NOTE

from:	General Secretariat of the Council
to:	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 1)/COUNCIL
No. prev. doc.:	16254/13 SOC 943
Subject:	Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers
	- Appointment of Ms Kristina EKBERG, alternate member for Sweden, in place
	of Mr Torbjörn WALLIN, who has resigned

- <u>The General Secretariat of the Council</u> has been informed of the resignation of Mr Torbjörn WALLIN as alternate member of the above Committee in the government representatives category (for Sweden).
- 2. Under Article 27 of Regulation (EEC) No 1612/68 on freedom of movement for workers within the Community, members and alternate members are appointed by the Council.

3. In accordance with the usual procedure, the Government of Sweden has nominated the following candidate for the remainder of the current term of office, ending on

24 September 2014:

Ms Kristina EKBERG Arbetsförmedlingen Internationella staben Hälsingegatan 38 SE-113 99 STOCKHOLM Tel.: + 46 10 486 23 79 GSM: + 46 730 782 474 e-mail: kristina.ekber@arbetsformedlingen.se

- 4. <u>The Permanent Representatives Committee</u> is therefore asked to advise the Council to:
 - (a) <u>adopt</u>, as an "A" item, <u>the attached Council Decision</u> replacing an alternate member of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers, and
 - (b) have the Decision <u>published</u>, for information, in the Official Journal of the European Union.

COUNCIL DECISION

of

replacing an alternate member of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to Council Regulation (EEC) No 1612/68 of 15 October 1968 on freedom of movement for workers within the Community¹, and in particular Articles 26 and 27 thereof,

Whereas:

- In its Decision of 4 October 2012² and 20 November 2012³, the Council appointed the members and alternate members of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers for the period ending on 24 September 2014.
- (2) A seat as alternate member in the government representatives category has fallen vacant as a result of the resignation of Mr Torbjörn WALLIN.
- (3) The Government of Sweden has submitted a nomination for the vacant seat,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

¹ OJ L 257, 19.10.1968, p. 2.

² OJ C 302, 6.10.2012, p. 1.

³ OJ C 360, 22.11.2012, p. 4.

Article 1

Ms Kristina EKBERG is hereby appointed alternate member of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers in place of Mr Torbjörn WALLIN for the remainder of the current term of office, ending on 24 September 2014.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at

For the Council The President