

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 12 June 2014 (OR. en)

9323/14

AGRILEG 99 MI 395 DENLEG 90 SAN 191 CONSOM 109 RECH 169

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

Subject:COUNCIL DECISION appointing half of the members of the Management
Board of the European Food Safety Authority

COUNCIL DECISION

of

appointing half of the members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 178/2002 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 28 January 2002 laying down the general principles and requirements of food law, establishing the European Food Safety Authority and laying down procedures in matters of food safety¹, and in particular Article 25(1) thereof,

Having regard to the list of candidates submitted to the Council by the European Commission,

Having regard to the views expressed by the European Parliament,

DGB 2

¹ OJ L 31, 1.2.2002, p. 1.

Whereas:

- (1) It is vital to ensure the independence, high scientific quality, transparency and efficiency of the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA). Cooperation with Member States is also indispensable.
- (2) The term of office of seven members of the Management Board of the Authority expires on 30 June 2014.
- (3) The list submitted by the Commission has been examined with a view to appointing seven new members of the Management Board of the Authority on the basis of the documentation provided by the Commission and in the light of the views expressed by the European Parliament. The aim is to secure the highest standard of competence, a broad range of relevant expertise, for instance in management and public administration, and the broadest possible geographical distribution within the Union.
- (4) Article 25 of Regulation (EC) No 178/2002 requires that four of the members of the Management Board of the Authority must have their background in organisations representing consumers and other interests in the food chain. The term of office of three members of the Management Board with such a background expires on 30 June 2014 and those members should therefore be replaced,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

DGB 2

Article 1

The following persons are appointed as members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority for the period from 1 July 2014 to 30 June 2018:

Stella CANNA MICHAELIDOU Iñaki EGUILEOR Jan MOUSING ^(*) Raymond O'ROURKE ^(**) András SZÉKÁCS Robert Van GORCOM Pieter VANTHEMSCHE ^(*)

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the day of its adoption.

Done at ...,

For the Council The President

Background in organisations representing other interests in the food chain
(**)

^(**) Background in organisations representing consumers

DGB 2