

Brussels, 4 July 2014

11597/14

**CDR 52** 

## "I/A" ITEM NOTE

from:	General Secretariat of the Council
to:	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council
Subject:	Committee of the Regions
	<ul> <li>Appointment of two members and two alternate members (EE)</li> </ul>

- 1. The Secretary General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end of the terms of office of Mr Väino HALLIKMÄGI and Mr Jüri PIHL, members of the Committee of the Regions, and Ms Saima KALEV, alternate member of the Committee of the Regions.
- 2. An alternate member's seat will become vacant following the appointment of Mr Mihkel JUHKAMI as member of the Committee of the Regions.
- 3. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.

4.	In accordance with that provision, the Estonian Government has proposed <sup>1</sup> for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2015:	
	a) as members:	
	- Mr Mihkel JUHKAMI, Mayor of the City of Rakvere	
	- Mr Urmas SUKLES, Mayor of the City of Haapsalu	
	and	
	b) as alternate members:	
	- Mr Hannes HANSO, Mayor of the City of Kuressaare	
	- Mr Rait PIHELGAS, Mayor of Ambla Rural Municipality.	
5.	The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that the Council	
	adopt the Decision in doc. 11596/14 CDR 50 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.	
6.	That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity	
	with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.	

<sup>1</sup> cf. doc. 11595/14 CDR 51.

11597/14 GC/jl DRI