

Brussels, 29 August 2014 (OR. en)

11929/14

SPORT 41 DOPAGE 3 SAN 286 JAI 610

## "I/A" ITEM NOTE

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 1)/Council
Subject:	WADA Foundation Board - Selection of an EU representative

- 1. The Resolution of the Council and the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States, meeting within the Council, on the representation of the EU Member States in the Foundation Board of WADA and the coordination of the EU and its Member States' positions prior to WADA meetings<sup>1</sup>, set out the arrangements regarding EU Member States representation in the Foundation Board of WADA as from 1 January 2013. According to this Resolution, the representatives of the EU Member States in the Foundation Board of WADA shall be at ministerial level and the seats shall be allocated as follows:
  - one seat should be allocated to one of the Member States forming the incumbent Trio Presidency,
  - one seat should be allocated to one of the Member States forming the future Trio
     Presidency,

\_

11929/14 KT/lz 1

www.parlament.gv.at

OJ 2011/C 372/02, 20.12.2011.

- one seat should be jointly allocated by the Member States meeting within the Council to a person responsible for sport at ministerial level with appropriate experience and knowledge ("expert at governmental level").
- 2. At the Council meeting of 27 November 2012, the Council designated Mr Leo VARADKAR, Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport (Ireland) for an 18 months period beginning 1 January 2013 and Mr Romain SCHNEIDER, Sports Minister (Grand Duchy of Luxembourg) for a three year period beginning 1 January 2013 for the WADA Foundation Board. On 2 May 2013 the Council approved by written procedure the designation of Mr Philippe MUYTERS, Flemish Minister for Finance, Budget, Work, Town and Country Planning and Sport (Belgium) as the expert at governmental level for the World Anti-doping Agency (WADA) Foundation Board for three years (2013-2015).
- 3. The term of Mr Leo VARADKAR in the WADA Foundation Board has expired. The future Trio Presidency (NL, SK, MT) has chosen Malta as its representative, and Malta has notified the General Secretariat of the Council of its designation of Mr Chris AGIUS, Hon. Parliamentary Secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport.
- 4. Therefore, the Committee of Permanent Representatives could invite the Council to confirm the designation of Mr Chris AGIUS, Hon. Parliamentary Secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport (Malta) as a representative of the EU Member States on the Foundation Board of the WADA for a period lasting until 1 July 2017.

11929/14 KT/lz 2

DGE-1C EN