

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION **Brussels, 4 December 2013**

17344/13

CDR 113

"I/A" ITEM NOTE

from:	General Secretariat of the Council
to:	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council
Subject:	Committee of the Regions
	- Appointment of three members (BE)

- 1. The Secretary General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end of the terms of office of Mr Xavier DESGAIN, Mr Jean-François ISTASSE and Mr Michel LEBRUN.
- Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.
- 3. In accordance with that provision, the Belgian Government has proposed as members ¹ for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2015:

¹ cf. doc. 17339/13 CDR 110.

- Mr Xavier DESGAIN, Conseiller communal à Charleroi
- Mr Jean-François ISTASSE, Conseiller communal à Verviers
- Mr Michel LEBRUN, Conseiller communal à Viroinval.
- 4. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that <u>the Council</u> adopt the Decision in doc. 17343/13 CDR 112 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.