

Brussels, 22 April 2015

8222/15

SOC 249 EMPL 148

"I/A" ITEM NOTE	
from:	General Secretariat of the Council
to:	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 1)/COUNCIL
No. prev. doc.:	7183/15 SOC 176 EMPL 96
Subject:	Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers
	<ul> <li>Appointment of Ms Astrid May GRIMA, member for Malta, in place of Mr Mario SCHEMBRI, who has resigned</li> </ul>

- <u>The General Secretariat of the Council</u> has been informed of the resignation of Mr Mario SCHEMBRI as member of the above Committee in the government representatives category (for Malta).
- Under Article 24 of Regulation (EU) No 492/2011 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 5 April 2011 on freedom of movement for workers within the Union, members and alternate members are appointed by the Council.



3. In accordance with the usual procedure, the Government of Malta has nominated the following candidate for the remainder of the current term of office, ending on

24 September 2016:

Ms Astrid May GRIMA Legal Advisor Identity Malta Agency Mediterranean Conference Centre Triq L-Isptar Valletta Malta Tel.: + 356 25904000 *e-mail: astrid-may.grima@gov.mt* 

- 4. <u>The Permanent Representatives Committee</u> is therefore asked to advise the Council to:
  - (a) <u>adopt</u>, as an "A" item, <u>the attached Council Decision</u> replacing a member of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers, and
  - (b) have the Decision <u>published</u>, for information, in the Official Journal of the European Union.

#### COUNCIL DECISION

of

## replacing a member of

### the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers

## THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to Regulation (EU) No 492/2011 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 5 April 2011 on freedom of movement for workers within the Union<sup>1</sup>, and in particular Articles 23 and 24 thereof.

Whereas:

- In its Decision of 25 September 2014<sup>2</sup>, the Council appointed the members and alternate members of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers for the period ending on 24 September 2016.
- (2) A seat as member in the government representatives category has fallen vacant as a result of the resignation of Mr Mario SCHEMBRI.
- (3) The Government of Malta has submitted a nomination for the vacant seat,

# HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L 141, 27.5.2011, p. 1.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> OJ C 338, 27.9.2014, p. 21.

#### Article 1

Ms Astrid May GRIMA is hereby appointed member of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers in place of Mr Radovan MAXIN for the remainder of the current term of office, ending on 24 September 2016.

#### Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at

For the Council The President