

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 12 December 2013 (OR. en)

17786/13

EF 271 ECOFIN 1158

COVER NOTE

From:	Mr Mario Draghi, President of the European Central Bank
date of receipt:	11 December 2013
To:	President of the Council of the European Union
Subject:	ECB proposal for the nomination of position of Chair of Supervisory Board of the Single Supervisory Mechanism

Delegations will find attached the letter from Mr Mario Draghi, President of the European Central Bank to Mr Rimantas Sadzius, President of the Council of the EU regarding the proposal for the nomination of position of Chair of the Supervisory Board.

Encl.:

17786/13 JLF/sr
DGG 1B **EN**



Mario DRAGHI

Mr Rimantas ŠADŽIUS President of the Council (ECOFIN) Council of the European Union JL - Rue de la Loi, 175 B - 1048 Brussels

> Frankfurt, 11 December 2013 L/MD/13/706

Dear Mr Šadžius,

Subject: ECB proposal for the nomination of position of Chair of the Supervisory Board of the Single Supervisory Mechanism

In line with Article 26 of Council Regulation (EU) No 1024/2013, the Governing Council of the European Central Bank, at its meeting on 20 November 2013, decided to propose for nomination to the position of Chair of the Supervisory Board, Ms Danièle Nouy, Secretary General of France's Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR).

Ms Nouy was chosen on the basis of an open selection procedure, on which the European Parliament and the Council have been kept duly informed. She possesses the required recognised standing and experience in banking and financial matters. From the short-list of candidates, Ms Nouy was deemed by the Governing Council to match best the selection criteria set out in the vacancy notice issued on 27 September 2013.

Following the approval of Ms Nouv by the European Parliament today, I would like to recall our intention to advance as quickly as possible with the establishment of the Single Supervisory Mechanism and hereby invite the EU Council to take its decision on the appointment of the Chair of the Supervisory Board.

Yours sincerely,

Mar. Lyh

Cc: Mr Jeroen Dijsselbloem, President of the Eurogroup Mr Uwe Corsepius, General Secretary of the Council

Kaiserstrasse 29, 60311 Frankfurt am Main, Germany · Tel.: +49 69 13 44 73 00 · Fax: +49 69 13 44 73 05

17786/13 1 DGG 1B

EN