

Brussels, 22 December 2015 (OR. en)

15109/15

ENER 419

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

COUNCIL DECISION appointing three members and three alternates of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Subject:

Energy Regulators

COUNCIL DECISION

of ...

appointing three members and three alternates of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 713/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 July 2009 establishing an Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators¹, and in particular Article 12 thereof,

15109/15 EK/IC/sr 1
DGE 2 EN

OJ L 211, 14.8.2009, p. 1.

Whereas:

- (1) Regulation (EC) No 713/2009 provides that the Council is to appoint five members and their alternates to the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators.
- (2) In accordance with Regulation (EC) No 713/2009, a member of the Administrative Board is not to be a member of the Board of Regulators and the members of the Administrative Board are to act independently and objectively in the public interest.
- (3) In accordance with Article 12(1) of Regulation (EC) No 713/2009, the term of office of the members of the Administrative Board and their alternates is four years, renewable once. However, to ensure continuity in the functioning of the Administrative Board, for the first mandate, the term of office of half of the members of the Administrative Board and their alternates was set at six years.

15109/15 EK/IC/sr 2

- (4) Therefore, by its Decision of 22 December 2009¹, the Council appointed three members and three alternates to the Administrative Board for a period of six years, and two members and two alternates for a period of four years from 28 January 2010. Furthermore, by its Decision of 15 November 2013², the Council appointed two members and three alternates to the Administrative Board for a period of four years from 28 January 2014.
- (5) With a view to the expiry of the six-year mandates of three members and two alternates, and the resignation of one alternate from his four-year mandate, three members and three alternates should be appointed to replace them,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

15109/15

EK/IC/sr

3 **N**I

Council Decision of 22 December 2009 appointing five members and five alternates of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (OJ C 21,

 ^{28.1.2010,} p. 1).
 Council Decision of 15 November 2013 appointing two members and three alternates of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (OJ C 337, 19.11.2013, p. 8).

Article 1

The following persons shall be appointed members of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators for a period of four years from 28 January 2016:

- Edmund HOSKER, United Kingdom,
- Georgios SHAMMAS, Cyprus,
- Piotr Grzegorz WOŹNIAK, Poland.

Article 2

The following persons shall be appointed alternate members of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators for a period of four years from 28 January 2016:

- Martin HANSEN, Denmark,
- Jurijs SPIRIDONOVS, Latvia.

Article 3

The following person shall be appointed alternate member of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators for a period of two years from 28 January 2016:

Carlos AGUIRRE CALZADA, Spain.

Article 4

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at ...,

For the Council

The President