

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 17 January 2014

5417/14

CDR 3

"I/A" ITEM NOTE

from : General Secretariat of the Council
to : Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 2) / Council
Subject : Committee of the Regions
- Appointment of three alternate members (UK)

- The Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions has informed the Council of the end
 of the terms of office of Ms Kathy POLLARD, Ms Mary ROBINSON and Ms Sharon
 TAYLOR, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions.
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from their respective Member States.
- 3. In accordance with that provision, the United Kingdom Government has proposed ¹ for the remainder of the current term of office, which ends on 25 January 2015:

5417/14

GC/jl 1
DRI **EN**

¹ cf. doc. 5415/14 CDR 1.

- Ms Sherma BATSON, Councillor, Stevenage Borough Council
- Ms Gillian FORD, Councillor, London Borough of Havering
- Ms Kathy POLLARD, Councillor, Babergh District Council.
- 4. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that <u>the Council</u> adopt the Decision in doc. 5416/13 CDR 2 as an "A" item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union in conformity with Article 297(2), second subparagraph TFEU.

5417/14 GC/jl 2 DRI EN