

Brussels, 7 May 2018 (OR. en)

8432/18

CES 13

'I/A' ITEM NOTE

| From: | General Secretariat of the Council |
|----------|--|
| To: | Permanent Representatives Committee/Council |
| Subject: | Draft Council Decision appointing three members, proposed by the Kingdom of the Netherlands, of the European Economic and Social Committee |
| | - Adoption |

- 1. By letters dated 26 October 2017, 19 February 2018 and 22 March 2018, the President of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) notified the Council of the end of the terms of office of Mr Dirk WESTENDORP, Mr Jan SIMONS and Mr Joost VAN IERSEL, members of the EESC¹.
- 2. By letter dated 19 March 2018, the Government of the Netherlands nominated the following persons²:
 - Mr A.P. August MESKER, Member Supervisory Council and Member Financial Audit Committee at Hivos,
 - Mr R.A.C. René BLIJLEVENS, Secretary of the Foundation for Sustainable (Micro)
 Pensions in Developing Countries,

.

^{5588/18, 6434/18, 7467/18.}

² 7522/18.

- Mr T.J.M. Thom VAN MIERLO, Former senior consumer affairs officer and secretary self-regulation dialogue at the Social Economic Council.
- 3. Under Article 302 TFEU, the Council appoints the Committee's members after consulting the Commission.
- 4. The Commission was consulted on the nomination on 4 April 2018 and gave a favourable opinion on 27 April 2018.
- 5. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore invited to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision set out in 8431/18 as an 'A' item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 6. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union pursuant to the second subparagraph of Article 297(2) TFEU.

8432/18 KDB/kdb 2
DPG EN