

Council of the European Union

Brussels, 6 July 2018 (OR. en)

10665/18

**CDR 93** 

| 'I/A' ITEM NOTE |   |
|-----------------|---|
| From:           | General Secretariat of the Council  |
| То:             | Permanent Representatives Committee/Council   |
| Subject:        | Draft Council Decision appointing six members and four alternate members, proposed by the United Kingdom, of the Committee of the Regions |
|                 | - Adoption  |

- By letters dated 23 January 2017, 3 May 2017, 15 May 2017, 19 June 2017, 9 October 2017, 13 October 2017 and 6 December 2017 the Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions notified the Council of the passing away of Mr Robert Ian Neilson GORDON, of the loss of mandate of Mr Corrie MCCHORD, Ms Jill SHORTLAND and Mr Robert BRIGHT, and of the resignation of Mr John LAMONT and Ms Victoria HOWELLS, members of the Committee of the Regions as well as of the passing away of Ms Sherma BATSON, the loss of mandate of Ms Kay TWITCHEN, and of the resignation of Mr Ronald Arvon HUGHES, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions<sup>1</sup>.
- An alternate member's seat will become vacant following the appointment of Ms Doreen HUDDART as a member of the Committee of the Regions.

DPG

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> 5626/17, 8933/17, 9532/17, 10716/17, 13165/17, 13283/17, 15612/17.

- 3. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from the respective Member States.
- 4. In accordance with that provision, the Government of the United Kingdom has proposed<sup>2</sup> the following:
  - a) as members:
    - Ms Doreen HUDDART, Councillor, Newcastle City Council,
    - Mr Kevin Paul BENTLEY, Councillor, Essex County Council,
    - Mr Kevin KEENAN, Councillor, Dundee City Council,
    - Mr Maurice GOLDEN MSP, Regional Member for West Scotland,
    - Mr Mick ANTONIW AM, Member of the National Assembly of Wales,
    - Mr Rob STEWART, Councillor, City and County of Swansea,

## and

- b) as alternate members:
  - Ms Sally MORGAN, Councillor, Teignbridge District Council,
  - Ms Claudia WEBBE, Councillor, London Borough of Islington,
  - Ms Teresa Catherine HERITAGE, Councillor, Hertfordshire County Council,
  - Mr Anthony J. TAYLOR, Councillor, Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council.

DPG

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> 10663/18.

- 5. Those members and alternate members will be appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2020 or until the date of withdrawal of the UK from the EU, whichever date comes first.
- 6. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision set out in 10664/18 as an 'A' item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 7. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union pursuant to the second subparagraph of Article 297(2) TFEU.

DPG