

Council of the European Union

> Brussels, 4 September 2018 (OR. en)

11296/18

CDR 101

COVER NOTE	
From:	General Secretariat of the Council
То:	Delegations
Subject:	Committee of the Regions
	- Letter from the Slovak Republic - appointment of three members and four alternate members

Delegations will find attached a letter dated 16 July 2018 from Mr Peter JAVORČÍK, Permanent Representative of the Slovak Republic to the European Union, addressed to Mr Jeppe TRANHOLM-MIKKELSEN, Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union.

Encl.: IM 07767 2018

IM 07767 2018 18.07.2018

Permanent Representative of the Slovak Republic to the EU

> Peter Jacorčík Ambassador

> > Brussels 16 July 2018 Ref.: 002967/2018-CRP2-0097975

Dear Mr Secretary General,

Please find attached a letter from the Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of the Slovak Republic Mr Miroslav Lajčák concerning the replacement of the members and alternate members of the national delegation of the Slovak Republic to the Committee of the Regions.

Yours sincerely,

Peh fren

Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Secretary General General Secretariat of the Council of the EU Brussels

Miroslav Lajčák Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of the Slovak Republic

> Bratislava # July 2018 Ref.: 064475/2018-OVZI-0096759

Dear Mr Secretary General,

With regard to the termination of electoral mandate of three members and two alternates of the European Committee of the Regions due to elections to the self-governing regions bodies of the Slovak Republic and also in connection with the resignation of two Slovak alternates to the European Committee of the Regions, I would like to inform you about the candidates for new members and alternates of the European Committee of the Regions of the Slovak national delegation for the term until 25 January 2020, approved by the Government of the Slovak Republic on 11 July 2018.

Please find attached the lists of candidates and their contact details.

Yours sincerely

p. Las

Enc.: Lists of the Slovak national delegation candidates for members and alternate members to the European Committee of the Regions (Annex 1, Annex 2)

Cc.: Mr. Karl-Heinz Lambertz, President of the European Committee of the Regions

Mr. Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Secretary-General General Secretariat of the Council of the EU Brussels

Annex I

Replacement of members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions of the national delegation of the Slovak Republic

In the context of the procedure for replacement of members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period until 25 January 2020, **the Government of the Slovak Republic** approved and submits the following candidates:

Members whose electoral mandate ended:

Mr. Pavol Frešo, Mr. Augustín Hambálek, Mr. István Zachariaš

Alternate members whose electoral mandate ended:

Mr. Martin Berta, Mr. Tibor Mikuš

Alternate members who resigned from their mandate:

Mr. Miroslav Benko, Mr. Richard Takáč

New members:

Mr. Juraj DROBA			
Mandate: Chairman of Bratislava Self – Governing Region			
Type of mandate:	electoral mandate		
Period of the mandate:	until the end of the mandate in 2020		

Mr. Rastislav TRNKAMandate: Chairman of Košice Self – Governing RegionType of mandate:electoral mandatePeriod of the mandate:until the end of the mandate in 2020

Mr. József BERÉNYI

Mandate: Vice - Chairman of Trnava Self – Governing RegionType of mandate:post with political accountability to an elected assemblyPeriod of the mandate:until the end of the mandate in 2020

New alternate members:

Ms. Erika JURINOVÁ Mandate: Chairman of Žilina Self – Governing Region **Type of mandate:** electoral mandate **Period of the mandate:** until the end of the mandate in 2020

Mr. Jaroslav BAŠKA

Mandate: Chairman of Trenčín Self – Governing Region **Type of mandate:** electoral mandate **Period of the mandate:** until the end of the mandate in 2020

Mr. Ján BELJAK

Mandate: Member of Banská Bystrica Regional ParliamnetType of mandate:electoral mandatePeriod of the mandate:until the end of the mandate in 2020

Mr. Jozef VISKUPIČ

Mandate: Chairman of Trnava Self – Governing RegionType of mandate:electoral mandatePeriod of the mandate:until the end of the mandate in 2020