

Council of the European Union

Brussels, 4 September 2018 (OR. en)

11298/18

CDR 103

'I/A' ITEM NOTE	
From:	General Secretariat of the Council
То:	Permanent Representatives Committee/Council
Subject:	Draft Council Decision appointing three members and four alternate members, proposed by the Slovak Republic, of the Committee of the Regions
	- Adoption

- By letters dated 6 December 2017, 19 April 2018 and 29 May 2018 the Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions notified the Council of the loss of mandate of Mr Pavol FREŠO, Mr Augustín HAMBÁLEK, and Mr István ZACHARIAŠ, members of the Committee of the Regions, as well as of the loss of mandate of Mr Martin BERTA and Mr Tibor MIKUŠ, and of the resignation of Mr Miroslav BENKO and Mr Richard TAKÁČ, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions¹.
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from the respective Member States.

GIP.1

¹ 15613/17, 8225/18, 10380/18.

- 3. In accordance with that provision, the Slovak Government has proposed² the following:
 - a) as members:
 - Mr Juraj DROBA, Chairman of Bratislava Self-Governing Region,
 - Mr Rastislav TRNKA, Chairman of Košice Self-Governing Region,
 - Mr József BERÉNYI, Vice-Chairman of Trnava Self-Governing Region,

and

- b) as alternate members:
 - Ms Erika JURINOVÁ, *Chairman of Žilina Self-Governing Region*,
 - Mr Jaroslav BAŠKA, Chairman of Trenčín Self-Governing Region,
 - Mr Ján BELJAK, Member of Banská Bystrica Regional Parliament,
 - Mr Jozef VISKUPIČ, *Chairman of Trnava Self-Governing Region*.
- 4. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision set out in 11297/18 as an 'A' item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union pursuant to the second subparagraph of Article 297(2) TFEU.

GIP.1

² 11296/18.