

Council of the European Union

Brussels, 24 September 2018 (OR. en)

12477/18

CDR 129

COVER NOTE		
From:	General Secretariat of the Council	
То:	Delegations	
Subject:	Committee of the Regions	
	- Letter from Germany - appointment of a member	

Delegations will find attached a translation of a letter dated 19 July 2018 from Mr Michael

FLÜGGER, Permanent Representative of the Federal Republic of Germany to the European Union,

addressed to the Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union.

Encl.: IM 07813 2018

Permanent Representation of the Federal Republic of Germany to the European Union Brussels

Rue Jacques de Lalaing/Jacques de Lalaingstraat 8-14,1040 Bruxelles/Brussel

To the	
Secretary-General of the Council	Michael Flügger
of the European Union	Ambassador
Mr Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen	Permanent Representative of the Federal Republic of
Rue de la Loi/Wetstraat 175	Germany
1048 Bruxelles/Brussel	on the EU's Political and Security Committee

SUBJECT: Nomination of members to the Committee of the Regions for the sixth term of office

Brussels, 19 July 2018

Sir,

I would kindly ask you to initiate the appointment procedure laid down in Article 305 TFEU for the following new nomination to the Committee of the Regions (CoR):

The Free State of Bavaria has nominated Mr Georg Eisenreich, Staatsminister, as a new full member of the CoR for the remainder of the sixth term of office.

This nomination has been necessitated by the departure of Dr Beate Merk from the Government of the Free State of Bavaria.

The Federal Government hereby proposes that Mr Georg Eisenreich, Staatsminister, be appointed as a full member of the CoR for the sixth term of office.

(Complimentary close).

(s.)

M. Flügger

State Chancellery

SAARLAND <u>State Chancellery · Am Ludwigsplatz 14 · 66117</u> Saarbrücken Conference of the Heads of Government of the German Länder 2017/2018 Saarland

Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs Mr Heiko Maas Ministry of Foreign Affairs 11013 Berlin

Saarbrücken, 28 June 2018

Sir,

By letter of 18 June 2018, Minister-President Markus Söder informed me in my capacity as current chair of the Conference of Ministers-President that at its meeting on 5 June 2018, the Government of the Free State of Bavaria nominated Georg Eisenreich, Staatsminister, as a full member of the Committee of the Regions (CoR) for the remainder of the sixth term of office.

This nomination has been necessitated by the fact that his predecessor in that post, Dr Beate Merk, Staatsministerin a.D., resigned from office on 21 March 2018 in connection with the formation of a new cabinet.

Please find enclosed the nomination containing the nominee's personal details, which I am submitting to you in accordance with Article 2 of the agreement on posting members and alternates to the CoR with the request that it be forwarded to the Council.

(Complimentary close).

(s.)

Tobias Hans

Encl.

The Minister-President

Am Ludwigsplatz 14, 66117 Saarbrücken Tel.+49 (0) 681 501-1122/1123 · Fax +49 (0) 681 501-1262 t.hans@staatskanzlei.saarland.de www.saarland.de

Free State of Bavaria

Member:

Mr Mandate: Type of mandate: Period of mandate: Postal address: Telephone:	Georg Eisenreich Staatsminister political accountability to an elected assembly (Landtag) sixth term of office OMIISSIS OMIISSIS
Period of mandate:	sixth term of office
Postal address:	OMIISSIS
Telephone:	OMIISSIS
Fax:	OMIISSIS
Email:	OMIISSIS
Date of birth:	OMIISSIS
Political group:	EPP