

Council of the European Union

Brussels, 13 November 2017 (OR. en)

14179/17

**CDR 161** 

COVER NOTE	
From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Delegations
Subject:	Committee of the Regions
	- Letter from Sweden - appointment of two members

Delegations will find attached a translation of a letter dated 5 October 2017 from Mr Ardalan SHEKARABI and Mr Henrik KÄLLSBO, on behalf of the Swedish Government, addressed to the Council of the European Union.

Encl.: IM 11343 2017

**Swedish Government** 

**Ministry of Finance** 

**Government decision** 

5 October 2017 Fi2017/03595/K Council of the European Union General Secretariat Rue de la Loi/Wetstraat 175 1048 Bruxelles/Brussel Belgium

## Nomination of members of the European Committee of the Regions

## **Government decision**

In accordance with Article 305 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, the Swedish government has decided to nominate Katrin Stjernfeldt Jammeh (Social Democrats) of Malmö municipal council and Agneta Granström (Green Party) of Norrbotten county council as members of the European Committee of the Regions until 25 January 2020 (see annex).

## Background

Heléne Fritzon (Social Democrats) and Joakim Larsson (Green Party) have resigned from their positions as members of the European Committee of the Regions. The Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions has proposed that Katrin Stjernfeldt Jammeh be nominated as a member in place of Heléne Fritzon, and Agneta Granström in place of Joakim Larsson.

Switchboard: 08 405 10 00 Fax: Website: <u>www.regeringen.se</u> Postal address: 103 33 Stockholm Street address: Jakobsgatan 24 Email: <u>fi.registrator@regeringskansliet.se</u>

DPG

On behalf of the Swedish government

(s.) Ardalan Shekarabi

(s.) Henrik Källsbo

Copy to:

Prime Minister's Office/EU Permanent Representation of Sweden to the European Union Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions Agneta Granström Heléne Fritzon Joakim Larsson Katrin Stjernfeldt Jammeh

DPG

## Annex to Government Decision no. III 1 of 5 October 2017 on the nomination of members of the European Committee of the Regions

Ms Katrin STJERNFELDT JAMMEH Title:

Type of mandate

Period of the mandate

Ledamot i kommunfullmäktige, Malmö kommun (a) electoral mandate

(a) until 15 October 2018

Ms Agneta GRANSTRÖM Title:

Type of mandate Period of the mandate Ledamot i landstingsfullmäktige, Norrbottens läns landsting (a) electoral mandate (a) until 15 October 2018