

Brussels, 8 February 2019 (OR. en)

6088/19

CES 5

## **'I/A' ITEM NOTE**

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee/Council
Subject:	Draft Council Decision appointing two members, proposed by the Kingdom of Denmark, of the European Economic and Social Committee
	- Adoption

- By letter dated 12 October 2018, the President of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) notified the Council of the resignation of Mr Bernt FALLENKAMP, member of the EESC.<sup>1</sup>
- 2. By letter dated 12 November 2018, the President of the EESC notified the Council of the resignation of Mr Arne GREVSEN, member of the EESC.<sup>2</sup>
- 3. By letter dated 13 November 2018, the Government of Denmark nominated Ms Dorthe ANDERSEN, *Head of Danish Trade Union EU Office*, and Ms Bente SORGENFREY, *1. vice president FH Danish Trade Union Confederation*, as members of the EESC.<sup>3</sup>

1 13297/18

14358/18

14919/18

6088/19 GIP.1

AH

1

- 4. Under Article 302 TFEU, the Council appoints the Committee's members after consulting the Commission.
- 5. The Commission was consulted on the nomination on 10 December 2018 and gave a favourable opinion on it on 29 January 2019.
- 6. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore invited to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision set out in 6089/19 as an 'A' item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 7. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union pursuant to the second subparagraph of Article 297(2) TFEU.

6088/19 AH 2 GIP.1 EN