EUROPEAN ECONOMIC AREA Council of the EEA

Brussels, 10 May 2019 (OR. en)

EEE 1603/19

REPORT

Subject: Progress report EEA Council	by the EEA Joint Committee to the 51st meeting of the
--------------------------------------	---

Decision making

- 1. The EEA Joint Committee has adopted 167 Joint Committee Decisions (JCDs) incorporating 429 legal acts since the EEA Council of 20 November 2018. In the period from 1 January to 8 May 2019, the EEA Joint Committee has adopted 128 JCDs incorporating 370 legal acts. In comparison, during the period from 1 January to 27 April 2018, 102 JCDs incorporating 201 legal acts were adopted.
- 2. As of 8 May 2019, there were 445 outstanding legal acts where the compliance date in the EU had passed, compared to 612 acts on 8 November 2018. Since November 2018 therefore, the overall number of outstanding legal acts has decreased by 27.3 %.
- 3. As of 8 May 2019, the number of JCDs awaiting the fulfilment of constitutional requirements where the six-month period had expired, was 18, which is the same number as on 20 November 2018.

EEE 1603/19 MN/sb 1
RELEX.2.A EN

- 4. Important decisions incorporated since the 50th meeting of the EEA Council include:
 - Decision No 247/2018 in respect of the powers of the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority and the European Securities and Markets Authority (Omnibus II),
 - Decision No 249/2018 concerning prevention of the use of the financial system for the purposes of money laundering or terrorist financing (AMLD IV),
 - Decision No 250/2018 concerning information accompanying transfers of funds,
 - Decision No 257/2018 on ship recycling,
 - Decision No 18/2019 on improving securities settlement in the European Union and on central securities depositories (CSDR),
 - Decision No 21/2019 on interchange fees for card-based payment transactions,
 - Decision No 78/2019 on markets in financial instruments (MiFiD / MiFiR package),
 - Decision No 79/2019 on prudential requirements for credit institutions and investment firms (CRR / CRD IV package).
 - 17 decisions incorporating 22 acts containing urgent Brexit-related measures, adopted by written procedure on 29 March 2019 (Decision Nos 30/2019 45/2019) and on 11 April 2019 (Decision Nos 99/2019 106/2019).

Decision shaping

5. The EEA EFTA States are participating in 14 EU programmes and 21 agencies, of which 16 are regulatory agencies and five executive agencies.

EEE 1603/19 MN/sb 2
RELEX.2.A EN

- 6. Since the last EEA Council, the EEA Joint Committee has taken note of EEA EFTA Comments on the following subjects:
 - Digital Europe Programme 2021-2027,
 - Horizon Europe 2021-2027,
 - Participation in EU Programmes under the MFF 2021-2027,
 - Better enforcement and modernisation of EU consumer protection rules,
 - The notification procedure for draft national legislation under the Services Directive,
 - The Rights and Values Programme.

Briefings in the Joint Committee

7. In the period from 20 November 2018 to 20 May 2019 there were no briefings provided in the EEA Joint Committee.

Status of outstanding issues

- 8. The discussions on the following issues have not yet been concluded:
 - the Directive on the Deposit Guarantee Scheme,
 - Ship Inspection and Survey Organizations,
 - the remaining part of the 2009 TELECOM package, including the Regulation establishing the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC),
 - the Third Postal Directive,
 - the Single European Railway Area,
 - Directives pertaining to Energy Efficiency and the Energy Performance of Buildings.

9. The Joint Committee has reiterated its determination to work towards the rapid conclusion of these issues.

Financial Mechanisms

10. The Agreement on the EEA Financial Mechanism and the Agreement on the Norwegian Financial Mechanism for the period 2014-2021 imply total contributions of 1548.1 and 1253.7 million euro, respectively. As of 8 May 2019, Memoranda of Understanding have been signed with Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

EEE 1603/19 MN/sb 4
RELEX.2.A EN