

Council of the European Union

> Brussels, 3 July 2019 (OR. en)

10968/19 ADD 1

Interinstitutional File: 2019/0147(NLE)

> WTO 199 COASI 109

PROPOSAL

From:	Secretary-General of the European Commission, signed by Mr Jordi AYET PUIGARNAU, Director
date of receipt:	3 July 2019
To:	Mr Jeppe TRANHOLM-MIKKELSEN, Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union
No. Cion doc.:	COM(2019) 313 final - ANNEX
Subject:	ANNEX to the Proposal for a Council Decision on the position to be taken on behalf of the European Union in the Joint Committee established under the Agreement between the European Union and Japan for an Economic Partnership as regards the adoption of the List of Arbitrators

Delegations will find attached document COM(2019) 313 final - ANNEX.

Encl.: COM(2019) 313 final - ANNEX

RELEX.1.A



EUROPEAN COMMISSION

> Brussels, 3.7.2019 COM(2019) 313 final

ANNEX

ANNEX

to the

Proposal for a Council Decision

on the position to be taken on behalf of the European Union in the Joint Committee established under the Agreement between the European Union and Japan for an Economic Partnership as regards the adoption of the List of Arbitrators

DRAFT

DECISION No .../2019 OF THE JOINT COMMITTEE

UNDER THE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE EUROPEAN UNION AND JAPAN FOR AN ECONOMIC PARTNERSHIP

of ...

on the establishment of the list of individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators

THE JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement between the European Union and Japan for an Economic Partnership, signed in Tokyo on 17 July 2018, and in particular Articles 21.9 (1) and 22.2 (3) thereof,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

1. The list of individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators is established as set out in Annex.

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at ... on ...

For the Joint Committee

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan

EU representative

<u>ANNEX</u>

LIST OF ARBITRATORS

REFERRED TO IN ARTICLE 21.9 (1) OF THE AGREEMENT

Arbitrators proposed by the European Union

- 1. Pieter Jan KUIJPER
- 2. Laurence BOISSON DE CHAZOURNES
- 3. Giorgio SACERDOTI
- 4. Hélène RUIZ FABRI

Arbitrators proposed by Japan

- 1. Akio SHIMIZU
- 2. Ichiro ARAKI
- 3. Shotaro OSHIMA
- 4. Kozo KAWAI
- 5. Hironobu SAKAI

Chairpersons

- 1. Merit JANOW (United States)
- 2. David UNTERHALTER (South Africa)
- 3. Christian HAEBERLI (Switzerland)
- 4. Armand DE MESTRAL (Canada)
- 5. William DAVEY (United States)
- 6. Jennifer A. HILLMAN (United States)