

Brussels, 28 August 2019 (OR. en)

11778/19 ADD 1

Interinstitutional File: 2019/0170(NLE)

**COEST 178 WTO 225** 

# **PROPOSAL**

From:	Secretary-General of the European Commission, signed by Mr Jordi AYET PUIGARNAU, Director
date of receipt:	28 August 2019
То:	Mr Jeppe TRANHOLM-MIKKELSEN, Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union
No. Cion doc.:	COM(2019) 369 final - Annex
Subject:	ANNEX to the Proposal for a Council Decision on the position to be taken on behalf of the European Union within the Partnership Committee established by the Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Armenia, of the other part, as regards the list of individuals to serve as arbitrators in dispute settlement proceedings

Delegations will find attached document COM(2019) 369 final - Annex.

Encl.: COM(2019) 369 final - Annex

11778/19 ADD 1 CF/II

RELEX 2.A.



Brussels, 28.8.2019 COM(2019) 369 final

**ANNEX** 

## **ANNEX**

#### to the

#### **Council Decision**

on the position to be taken on behalf of the European Union within the Partnership Committee established by the Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Armenia, of the other part, as regards the list of individuals to serve as arbitrators in dispute settlement proceedings

# **ATTACHMENT**

#### **DRAFT**

# DECISION NO XX/XX OF THE EU-REPUBLIC OF ARMENIA PARTNERSHIP COMMITTEE

#### of XXXX

on the establishment of the list of arbitrators referred to in Article 339(1) of the Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Armenia, of the other part

#### THE PARTNERSHIP COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Armenia, of the other part ('the Agreement'), and in particular Article 339(1) thereof,

#### Whereas:

- (1) In accordance with Article 339(1) of the Agreement, the Partnership Committee shall establish a list of at least 15 individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators.
- (2) Article 339(1) of the Agreement provides that the list shall be composed of three sub-lists, one sub-list for individuals of each Party and one sub-list of individuals who are not nationals of either Party and who shall serve as chairperson of the arbitration panel. Each sub-list shall include at least five individuals.
- (3) The European Union and the Republic of Armenia have each proposed five candidate arbitrators and have agreed on five third-country nationals who may serve as chairperson to an arbitration panel. All listed individuals are willing and able to serve as arbitrators.
- (4) To ensure the proper functioning of the Agreement and notably of Chapter 13 of Title VI thereof, the list requires adoption by the Partnership Committee,

# HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

# Article 1

The list of individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators pusuant to Article 339(1) of the Agreement is established as Annex to this Decision.

#### Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the day of its adoption.

Done at ...,

For the Partnership Committee

# **ANNEX**

# LIST OF ARBITRATORS REFERRED TO IN ARTICLE 339 OF THE COMPREHENSIVE AND ENHANCED PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE EUROPEAN UNION AND THE EUROPEAN ATOMIC ENERGY COMMUNITY AND THEIR MEMBER STATES, OF THE ONE PART, AND THE REPUBLIC OF ARMENIA, OF THE OTHER PART

# **Arbitrators proposed by the European Union**

- 1. Claus–Dieter EHLERMANN
- 2. Giorgio SACERDOTI
- 3. Jacques BOURGEOIS
- 4. Pieter Jan KUIJPER
- 5. Ramon TORRENT

## Arbitrators proposed by Armenia

- 1. Nora SARGSYAN
- 2. Arman SARGSYAN
- 3. Grigor BEKMEZYAN
- 4. Levon GEVORGYAN
- 5. Mushegh MANUKYAN

# Chairpersons

- 1. William Davey (USA)
- 2. Helge Seland (Norway)
- 3. Maryse Robert (Canada)
- 4. Christian Häberli (Switzerland)
- 5. Merit Janow (USA)