

Council of the European Union

Brussels, 13 September 2019 (OR. en)

11893/19

CDR 159

'I/A' ITEM NOTE	
From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee/Council
Subject:	Draft Council Decision appointing four members, proposed by Malta, of the Committee of the Regions
	- Adoption

- By letter dated 4 July 2019, the Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions notified the Council of the loss of mandate of Mr Samuel AZZOPARDI, Mr Joseph CORDINA, Mr Paul FARRUGIA and Mr Anthony MIFSUD, members of the Committee of the Regions¹.
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from the respective Member States.

MBN

GIP.1

¹ 11829/19.

- In accordance with that provision, the Government of Malta has proposed² the following persons as members for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2020:
 - Mr Samuel AZZOPARDI, President Reģjun Għawdex / Gozo Regional Committee President (change of mandate),
 - Mr Joseph CORDINA, *Member of the Local Councils' Executive Committee* (change of mandate),
 - Mr Paul FARRUGIA, President Reģjun Xlokk / South East Regional Committee President (change of mandate),
 - Mr Anthony MIFSUD, President Regjun Tramuntana / President Northern Region (change of mandate).
- 4. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision set out in 11890/19 as an 'A' item at a forthcoming meeting.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union pursuant to the second subparagraph of Article 297(2) TFEU.

² 11889/19.